Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Recommended Websites for Primary Sources
The following websites are also excellent resources when looking for primary sources!
National Archives Experience: Digital Vaults
Interactive exhibit from the National Archives full of primary sources throughout US History.
American Memory: Library of Congress
"...provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience."
British MovieTone YouTube Channel
An "amazing array" of historical films from "one of the world's most comprehensive newsreel archives."
AP Archive YouTube Channel
Film and Video archive of the Associated Press for current and historical film footage. Updated daily.
Digital Public Library of America
". . .offers a single point of access to millions of items—photographs, manuscripts, books, sounds, moving images, and more—from libraries, archives, and museums around the United States." Search or Browse by time period, geography, or keyword.
Make sure to use the Search Tools link found right below the search box.
1. Click Any books and choose the Free Google Ebooks.
2. Limit to primary sources using the keywords recommend in the "Find Primary Sources in the Library" box on this guide.
World Digital Library
". . .makes available on the Internet, free of charge and in multilingual format, significant primary materials from countries and cultures around the world."
Local Libraries with Primary Sources
Find primary sources related to Frederick County and Maryland:
Maryland Room: C. Burr Artz Library
Collections, newspapers, photographs related to "peoples, places, communities, and institutions of Frederick County and City."
Historical Society of Frederick County
"Letters, diaries, Civil War records, maps, family histories, photographs, and books on local subjects are all available for use." Requires a $6.00 per day research fee.
Maryland State Archives
". . .include colonial and State executive, legislative and judicial records; county court, land and probate records; business records; publications and reports of State, county and municipal governments; records of religious bodies; and special collections of maps, newspapers, photographs, and private papers."