LibGuides: Primary Sources for Catoctin Students: Additional CHS Databases

Primary Sources in General CHS Databases

In addition to the databases devoted entirely to primary sources, other CHS databases also provide primary sources in addition to secondary sources. Here is a link to all of the databases Catoctin High School students have access to.

Below are some databases that provide primary sources as source types during a database search:

ABC Clio - American Government
After you search a term, you can filter the search for types of documents - however, there is not a specific option for primary sources. You will need to determine if a document, image, or video is a primary source.
Username/ID: fcpschs Password: cougars
ABC Clio - American History
After you search a term, you can filter the search for types of documents - however, there is not a specific option for primary sources. You will need to determine if a document, image, or video is a primary source.
Username/ID: fcpschs Password: cougars
Biography-in-Context
Once you search a term in this database, if there are specific primary sources as search results, there is a link to them at the top of the search results page. There are also links to videos and images that may or may not also be considered primary sources.
Password: cougars
US History-in-Context
Once you search a term in this database, if there are specific primary sources as search results, there is a link to them at the top of the search results page. There are also links to videos and images that may or may not also be considered primary sources.
Password: cougars
World History-in-Context
Once you search a term in this database, if there are specific primary sources as search results, there is a link to them at the top of the search results page. There are also links to videos and images that may or may not also be considered primary sources.
Password: cougars
Bloom's Literature
Bloom's Literature is focused exclusively on literature and authors. However, once you search an author or work, there may be images or "Literary Works" that would definitely be considered primary sources.
Username/ID: fcpschs Password: cougars

Primary Sources at Frederick County Public Libraries

Remember, you can always use your Student Success ID number to utilize resources through Frederick County Public Libraries.

Your Student Success Card ID is

119828 + your 8-digit FCPS student ID number.

Frederick County Public Libraries Databases
There are a variety of databases free for you to use with your Student Success card. Some options include

Fold3 - History and Genealogy
Gale OneFile: High School Edition - General Research
Heritage Quest - History and Genealogy
History Reference eBooks - History and Genealogy