Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
CHS Primary Source Databases
The password to use at home for all of the databases below is cougars.
19th Century US Newspapers Digital Archive
This primary source database provides access to full-text content and images from numerous newspapers from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S. The collection encompasses the entire 19th Century, with an emphasis on such topics as the American Civil War, African-American culture and history, Western migration, and Antebellum-era life, among other subjects.
The digitized materials within Smithsonian Collections Online span multidisciplinary topics for both research and education, including Evolution of Flight, 1784-1991, Trade Literature and the Merchandising of Industry, World’s Fairs and Expositions: Visions of Tomorrow, and Air & Space and Smithsonian Magazine Archive.
Sources In US History: American Revolution
The American Revolution documents the revolution and war that created the United States of America, from the earliest protests in 1765 through the peace treaty of 1783. The collection examines the political, social, and intellectual upheaval of the age, as well as the actual war for American independence through its eight long years of conflict.
Sources In US History: Civil War
This Civil War digital archive documents the war that transformed America, ending slavery and unifying the nation around the principles of freedom. The collection provides access to a wide variety of documents: personal narratives and memoirs, pamphlets and political speeches, sermons and songs, regimental histories and photograph albums, legal treatises and children's books.
Sources In US History: Slavery In America
This digital archive provides access to a wide variety of documents-personal narratives, pamphlets, addresses, political speeches, monographs, sermons, plays, songs, poetic and fictional works published between the 17th and late 19th centuries.
Times Digital Archive 1785-Onwards
The Times Digital Archive has more than 200 years of the Times with every page of every issue from 1785 to 2012. The archive supports research across multiple disciplines and areas of interest, including business, humanities, political science, philosophy, and numerous other subjects with coverage of all major international historical events.
Liberty Magazine 1924-1950
This was an era of unique creativity and growing involvement in world affairs. Liberty magazine charted the moods, attitudes, lifestyles, fads, and fortunes of middle America through its three most significant decades.