How to import a book citation using an ISBN - If you are citing a book or other non-periodical source (e.g., magazine, newspaper, journal, etc.) in NoodleTools, use WorldCat (a global catalog of library collections) to import the source information directly into your NoodleTools form. NOTE: this may not work for all books and be sure you have the title with the proper copyright dates, as books get re-published over the years and come in a variety of formats. Watch video (2:55) for further help.
How to cite a book from scratch - a (3:48) video screencast by OHS Library Media Specialist Mrs. Owen, if you are unable to cite it in NoodleTools with the aforementioned Worldcat instructions. NOTE: this video was created before the July 2021 NoodleTools updates, but the information is still relevant.
The list, below, is not an exhaustive list. To find other books at the OHS Library check the OHS library catalog.
Be sure to use the filters on the left-hand sidebar. This will allow you to limit your search by format, collection, and subject.
Hint: If you find a book that matches your research interest, be sure to look at the subject headings. These subject headings may lead you to other useful materials. For example:
Gun Violence by
In early 2018, teen-led March for Our lives events across the United States protested gun violence, demanded change to save lives, and registered voters toward that end. This authoritative exploration of guns, gun violence, and gun control explores the Second Amendment, the history of guns and gun laws in the United States, legal restrictions to gun ownership, and the devastation of mass shootings. Through an objective look at individual versus collective rights, readers will be able to offer well-informed answers to questions such as should young people own assault rifles? What about terrorists and the mentally ill? Read the book to make an informed argument and support your point of view.
Feminism 3.0 by
While most people say they believe in equal rights, the word feminism--America's new F-word--makes people uncomfortable. Explore the history of US feminism through pioneers such as Elizabeth Cady Stanton, Betty Friedan, Shirley Chisholm, and Gloria Steinem. Meet modern leaders such as Rebecca Walker and Julie Zeilinger, who are striving to empower women at work, in government, at home--and in cultural and personal arenas. Learn from interviews with movement leaders, scholars, pop stars, and average women, what it means to be a feminist--or to reject it altogether. After reading this book, readers will be able to respond to "Am I a feminist?" with a confident, informed voice.
Reproductive Rights by
Throughout history, men and women have always found ways to control reproduction. In some ancient societies, people turned to herbs or traditional rituals. Others turned to methods that are still used in the twenty-first century, such as abstinence, condoms, and abortions. Legislating access to birth control, sex education, and abortion is also not new. In 1873 the US Congress made it illegal to mail 'obscene, lewd, or lascivious materials'--including any object designed for contraception or to induce abortion. In some states in the 1900s, it was illegal for Americans to possess, sell, advertise, or even speak about methods of controlling pregnancy. At the beginning of the twentieth century, Margaret Sanger, Mary Ware Dennett, and others began to defy these laws and advocate for the legalization of birth control and for better women's reproductive healthcare. By 1960 doctors had developed the Pill, but it wasn't until 1972 that all US citizens had legal access to birth control. And in the landmark decision Roe v Wade (1973), the US Supreme Court ruled that women had a constitutional right to terminate a pregnancy. Disputes over contraception, sex education, and abortion continue to roil the nation, leading to controversial legal and political rulings and occasionally violence. As society changes--and as new reproductive technologies expand the possibilities for controlling and initiating pregnancy--Americans will continue to debate reproductive rights for all.
It's Getting Hot in Here by
Tackling the issue of global warming head-on for a teen audience, Bridget Heos examines the science behind it, the history of climate change on our planet, and the ways in which humans have affected the current crisis we face.It's Getting Hot in Here illustrates how interconnected we are not just with everyone else on the planet, but with the people who came before us and the ones who will inherit the planet after us. This eye-opening approach to one of today's most pressing issues focuses on the past human influences, the current state of affairs, the grim picture for the future--and how young readers can help to make a positive change.
Death Penalty by
Essays from differing perspectives discussing the death penalty.
Critical World Issues by
For thousands of years, human beings have had relationships with a variety of other animals. The at-times unequal interaction between humans and animals has led to the rise of an animal-rights movement. This book examines and addresses some basic questions about the issue of animal rights today, including: What are animal rights? Are animals the same as humans? Is it proper the way that animals are raised as food? And, are there alternatives to using animals in research? The Critical World Issues series explores some of the most controversial and newsworthy subjects in the modern world. Each book examines the facts about the issue being covered, with information about arguments and opinions from around the globe. Special research projects, as well as a great variety of additional resources, invite the reader to engage with the issues that are currently shaping our world. Each title in this series contains color photos throughout, maps, and graphics that will help student readers put major events into historical perspective. Back matter includes: timelines, a detailed index and further reading lists for books and internet resources. Key Icons appear throughout the books in this series in an effort to encourage library readers to build knowledge, gain awareness, explore possibilities and expand their viewpoints through our content rich non-fiction books. Key Icons in this series are as follows: Words to Understand are shown at the front of each chapter with definitions. These words are set in boldfaced type in that chapter, so that readers are able to reference back to the definitions--building their vocabulary and enhancing their reading comprehension. Sidebars are highlighted graphics with content rich material within that allows readers to build knowledge and broaden their perspectives by weaving together additional information to provide realistic and holistic perspectives. Text Dependent Questions are placed at the end of each chapter. They challenge the reader's comprehension of the chapter they have just read, while sending the reader back to the text for more careful attention to the evidence presented there. Research Projects are provided at the end of each chapter as well and provide readers with suggestions for projects that encourage deeper research and analysis. And a Series Glossary of Key Terms is included in the back matter containing terminology used throughout the series. Words found here broaden the reader's knowledge and understanding of terms used in this field.
All eBooks can be opened with the access links, which can be found by clicking on the titles or covers of the books below. Please ask library staff for help in locating the access link, if needed. Some books are multi-user sources, meaning multiple students can read the book simultaneously (Gale password for remote use: bears). Single-use sources require you to check out the eBook with your student identification number; please ask Library staff for help, as needed.
The list, below, is not an exhaustive list. To find other eBooks at the OHS Library check the OHS library catalog.
Hint: search for more eBooks with the appropriate key words (e.g., "gun control") then filter the format for "eBooks".
Gun Control by
Designed as ready-reference tools providing key data on social concerns, these books save researchers and students from the cumbersome task of locating the various data in pamphlets, legal journals, congressional reports, newspapers and other sources. No other reference series offers such complete and up-to-date information on current social issues. The series is available as a complete set or in Issue Groups. Volumes are completely revised and updated every two years.
Animal Rights by
According to PETA (People for the Ethical Treatment of Animals), people who recognize animal rights believe that all animals have an inherent worth that is separate from their usefulness to humans. This informative edition presents a discussion of animal rights, covering topics such as farming animals for food, animal experimentation, animals used in sports and entertainment, and the tactics of animal rights activists.
Animal Rights
Designed as ready-reference tools providing key data on social concerns, these books save researchers and students from the cumbersome task of locating the various data in pamphlets, legal journals, congressional reports, newspapers and other sources. No other reference series offers such complete and up-to-date information on current social issues. The series is available as a complete set or in Issue Groups. Volumes are completely revised and updated every two years.
Death Penalty by
The highest recorded number of executions in the U.S. occurred in 1999 when 98 executions were performed. This compelling resource presents a discussion on the death penalty, covering topics such as arguments for the death penalty, objections against the death penalty, and how the United States differs from other countries in handling the issue. Context is introduced through an examination of court cases and historical background.
Capital Punishment: Cruel and Unusual? by
The Information Plus Reference Series compiles all the pertinent data, both current and historical, on a wide variety of contemporary social issues. Designed as ready-reference tools providing key data on social concerns, these books save researchers and students from the cumbersome task of locating the various data in pamphlets, legal journals, congressional reports, newspapers and other sources. The series covers 40 vital current issues, including: Abortion AIDS Capital punishment Death and dying Domestic violence Endangered species Environment Gun control Homelessness Illegal drugs Immigration And many moreCompiled from thousands of source documents, reports and studies, each of the Information Plus Reference Series books provide current and past statistics, court decisions, state and federal laws, tables and charts, results of public opinion polls and more. Each thoroughly indexed 112-200 page volume provides complete source citations as well as listings of names, addresses, telephone and fax numbers for relevant organizations. Volumes in the Information Plus Reference Series are completely revised and updated every two years.The set includes four Issue Group subsets including: Health and Lifestyle Issues Group (includes Health and Wellness, The Health Care System, AIDS/HIV, Genetics and Genetic Engineering, Mental Health, Weight in America, Alcohol & Tobacco, Death & Dying, Growing Up in America, Recreation and Growing Old in America) Crime Issues Group (includes Crime, Child Abuse, Violent Relationships, Gun Control, Capital Punishment, Prisons & Jails, National Security, Youth Violence, Crime, and Gangs and Illegal Drugs) Environmental Issues Group (includes Animal Rights, Environment, Garbage and Other Pollution, Water, Endangered Species and Energy) Major Social Issues Group (includes Abortion, American Economy, Education, Electronic America, Homeless in America, Immigration and Illegal Aliens, Minorities, Social Welfare, Space Exploration, Women's Changing Role, American Family, Profile of the Nation, Gambling and Careers and Occupations)Information Plus Reference Series is sold as a complete set, by Issue Group set, or individually.
Immigration by
This collection of international perspectives provides insights on the issue of immigration. Readers will evaluate immigration in relation to citizenship, economics, national identity, and national security. Readers evaluate citizenship in such places as India, Sweden, Russia, and Germany. They will evaluate immigration and economics in Ireland, China, Japan, and the United Kingdom. Further analysis takes them to Zimbabwe, Canada, Hungary, Morocco, and Spain.
This Land Is Our Land by
A 2017 YALSA Excellence in Nonfiction finalist! American attitudes toward immigrants are paradoxical. On the one hand, we see our country as a haven for the poor and oppressed; anyone, no matter his or her background, can find freedom here and achieve the "American Dream." On the other hand, depending on prevailing economic conditions, fluctuating feelings about race and ethnicity, and fear of foreign political and labor agitation, we set boundaries and restrictions on who may come to this country and whether they may stay as citizens. This book explores the way government policy and popular responses to immigrant groups evolved throughout U.S. history, particularly between 1800 and 1965. The book concludes with a summary of events up to contemporary times, as immigration again becomes a hot-button issue. Includes an author's note, bibliography, and index.
The librarian is always happy to help you!
Visit the Library Website
Open M-F, 7:15 am - 2:15 pm
240-566-9690
Contact me by Schoology message or email Renate.Owen@fcps.org
Find more books about your topic at the Frederick County Public Libraries (FCPL). To check out books from any Frederick County Public Library (FCPL) branch, please use your FCPL Student Success Card (every FCPS student has one!). Please see OHS Library staff if you need assistance with using this "card".