Wikipedia is not a reliable source for academic writing or research. Wikipedia is increasingly used by people in the academic community, from freshman students to distinguished professorship, as an easily accessible tertiary source for information about anything and everything, and as a quick "ready reference", to get a sense of a concept or idea.
However, citation of Wikipedia in research papers may be considered unacceptable, because Wikipedia is not a reliable source.
Tips for Database Searching (College of the Siskiyous) - Searching for articles in a library database is different than searching with Google. Here are some tips to get you started.
The Web vs. Library Databases (Arizona State University) - Explains how the two resources are different and why you should use databases for research.
Use this database portal to search across 23 Gale databases at once. You will gain access to academic journals, books, news, images, videos, and audio files. Here's how to export Gale database citations to your NoodleTools project.
For remote access: Password: bears
Use this database to find newspapers, magazines, journals, images, books, websites, and other resources about your topic. This database exports citations to NoodleTools in the same way Gale databases export to NoodleTools.
For remote access: Username/ID: fcpsohs Password: bears
SIRS Issues Researcher is a general database of selected full-text articles on social, scientific, health, historic, economic, business, political, and global issues. This database exports citations to NoodleTools in the same way Gale databases export to NoodleTools.
For remote access: Username/ID: fcpsohs Password: bears
Covers current events and social issues such as gun control and media violence, etc. Includes pro/con essays, topic overviews, statistical tables, charts, images, full-text periodicals, and links to hand-selected websites. Here's how to export Gale database citations to your NoodleTools project.
To access FCPL resources: use your FCPL Student Success Card (every FCPS student has one! Type 119829 along with your eight-digit FCPS student ID number as the Library Card Number).
Please see OHS Library staff if you need assistance with using this "card".
Narrow down search results for complex searches by using the Advanced Search page. For example, you can find sites updated in the last 24 hours or images that are in black and white.