The librarian is always happy to help you!
Visit the Library Website
Open M-F, 7:15 am - 2:15 pm
240-566-9690
Contact me by Schoology message or email Renate.Owen@fcps.org
ACCUPLACER tests your knowledge in math, reading, and writing. Over 1,500 institutions administer ACCUPLACER tests as part of the enrollment process. These tests help identify your strengths and needs in each subject area. ACCUPLACER interactive online learning tools are available to help you sharpen your skills. The academic advisers and counselors at your college or technical school will use your ACCUPLACER test results along with information about your academic background, goals, and interests to help you take courses that match your skill level and give you the best opportunities for success.
How Does the ACCUPLACER Work?
Thanks to ACCUPLACER’s online format, the test questions are based on your responses to each question you’ve already answered. Questions increase or decrease in difficulty depending on your answers as you work through the test. ACCUPLACER tests are untimed, so you can move at a comfortable pace. It’s important to give yourself enough time to do your best and complete the test because your results are the key factor in determining the courses you can take. Your results will be available immediately after you take the test. It’s a good idea to ask your academic adviser about your college’s or school’s testing policies and procedures. That way, you’re prepared and can plan accordingly.
For more information about ACCUPLACER go to their homepage on the CollegeBoard site.
What are the parts of the ACCUPLACER Test?
All materials are located in various Frederick County Public High School (FCPS) libraries. Please ask OHS Library staff for help in having these books sent to the OHS Library.
The list, below, is not an exhaustive list. To find other test preparation materials at FCPS Libraries, a good strategy is to search for the name of the test you are interested in along with a term like "study guides" or "examinations" in the FCPS District Catalog. For example, a keyword search for "Accuplacer" will find many useful materials.
ACCUPLACER Secrets Study Guide by
***Includes Practice Test Questions*** ACCUPLACER Secrets helps you ace the ACCUPLACER Exam, without weeks and months of endless studying. Our comprehensive ACCUPLACER Secrets study guide is written by our exam experts, who painstakingly researched every topic and concept that you need to know to ace your test. Our original research reveals specific weaknesses that you can exploit to increase your exam score more than you've ever imagined. ACCUPLACER Secrets includes: The 5 Secret Keys to ACCUPLACER Test Success: Time is Your Greatest Enemy, Guessing is Not Guesswork, Practice Smarter, Not Harder, Prepare, Don't Procrastinate, Test Yourself; A comprehensive Sentence Skills review including: Simplicity is Bliss, Recognizing Parallelism, Understanding Grammar Type, Keys to Using Punctuation, Beware of Added Phrases, Clearing Up Word Confusion, Comparative Methods, Nonessential Sections, Maintaining the Flow, Serial Mistakes; A comprehensive Arithmetic, Elementary Algebra, and College-Level Mathematics review including: The Easiest Math Review You'll Ever Read, Solving for Variables, Breezing Through Word Problems, Keeping Probability Simple, Using the Right Formulas, Graphing for Success, Racing Through Ratios, Understanding Line Plotting, Mastering Difficult Problems; A comprehensive Reading Comprehension and English Proficiency review including: Determining the Relationships, Making Strategic Eliminations, Recognizing Switchback Words, Understanding Word Types, Finding the Right Opportunities, When Truth Doesn't Equal Correctness, Avoiding the Trap of Familiarity, Making Logic Work for You, Skimming Techniques to Save Time; A comprehensive Essay review including: Approaching a Topic, Brainstorming for Success, Picking a Main Idea, Starting Your Engines, Strength Through Diversity, Weeding Your Garden, Creating a Logical Flow, Avoiding the Panic, and much more...
Next generation Accuplacer study guide, 2018-2019 : Accuplacer English and math prep book with practice test questions by
You're probably thinking this is just another typical study guide. Because we know your time is limited, we've created a resource that isn't like most study guides. With Trivium Test Prep's unofficial Next Generation ACCUPLACER Study Guide 2018-2019: ACCUPLACER English and Math Prep Book with Practice Test Questions you'll benefit from a quick-but-comprehensive review of everything tested on the exam via real-life examples, graphics, and information. Imagine having your study materials conveniently on your phone or tablet Trivium Test Prep's NEW Next Generation ACCUPLACER Study Guide 2018-2019 comes with FREE online resources, including: practice questions, digital flashcards, study "cheat" sheets, and 35 tried and tested test tips. These easy-to-access-anywhere materials give you that extra edge you need to pass the first time. The College Board was not involved in the creation or production of this product, is not in any way affiliated with Trivium Test Prep, and does not sponsor or endorse this product. Trivium Test Prep's Next Generation ACCUPLACER Study Guide 2018-2019 offers: A detailed overview of what you need to know for the Next Generation ACCUPLACER exam Coverage of all the subjects over which you will be tested Practice questions for you to practice and improve Test tips and strategies to help you score higher Trivium Test Prep's Next Generation ACCUPLACER Study Guide 2018-2019 covers: Mathematics Reading Writing ...and includes a FULL practice test About Trivium Test Prep Trivium Test Prep is an independent test prep study guide company that produces and prints all of our books right here in the USA. Our dedicated professionals know how people think and learn, and have created our test prep products based on what research has shown to be the fastest, easiest, and most effective way to prepare for the exam. Unlike other study guides that are stamped out in a generic fashion, our study materials are specifically tailored for your exact needs. We offer a comprehensive set of guides guaranteed to raise your score for exams from every step of your education; from high school, to college or the military, to graduate school. Let our study guides guide you along the path to the professional career of your dreams
Next generation Accuplacer study guide : test prep and practice questions for the Next-Generation Accuplacer placement exam by 
Additional Accuplacer titles from Frederick County Public Libraries: to check out books from any Frederick County Public Library (FCPL) branch, please use your FCPL Student Success Card (or just use 119829 along with your eight-digit student ID number as the username and “student” as the password). Please see OHS Library staff if you needed assistance with using this "card".
Prepare for standardized tests with eBooks, online courses, and full-length practice tests for SAT, ACT, AP, PSAT, ASVAB, GED, GRE, LSAT, MCAT, TOEFL, U.S. citizenship, and more in Gale Presents: Peterson’s Test and Career Prep. Research undergraduate and graduate programs, find tuition assistance, and explore and prepare for careers whether you’re entering the workforce for the first time or searching for new opportunities. A variety of interactive methods prompt personalized career recommendations and insight on programs, knowledge, skills, and ability. Search for jobs and create visually interesting résumés, cover letters, and websites that can be externally shared with prospective employers, using prebuilt templates.
For at-home use, please use required password for Peterson's Prep on the OHS Database Descriptions & Passwords page (you must be signed into your FCPS Google account to access). NOTE: after the initial log in to the database, users will be required to create a private username & password so the software can track progress and provide customized responses for individual strengths and weaknesses for test prep and save other documents.
Frederick County Public Schools middle and high school students now have access to virtual tutoring services for help on any subject. TutorMe provides virtual tutoring opportunities for grades 6-12 on virtually any topic. Tutors are available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week for assistance.
With on-demand tutoring, students can access AP, SAT, ACT, or PSAT preparation sessions without face-to-face teachers. With access to online tutors, standardized test preparation is accessible to all students, increasing equitable access to essential test-prep, improving student outcomes, and providing the individualized instruction students need to excel on their tests.
Students can log in from the Chrome web browser by using Clever. Details for how to do so are available online. A Spanish version of the directions is also available. After signing in, be specific in the supports needed. It is also helpful to use your first language along with the problem you are trying to solve. More tips are posted online. A Spanish version is also available.
HelpNow is a Frederick County Public Library resource designed for K-12 students and beyond. Live tutoring is available in English and Spanish from 2 p.m. - 11 p.m. to provide homework help for core subjects, including mathematics, science, and English language arts. Practice long division, improve reading comprehension, and learn other key skills. Practice for standardized tests. Students may submit papers to HelpNow’s Writing Lab for expert assistance and feedback, or collaborate with peers in virtual study spaces.
To access this subscription, click on the MyAccount drop down menu on the right-hand side, and then Log-in/create an account. Be sure to use a personal email in the event you need to reset your password. Then, in the left-hand column "Expert Help" click on "Skill Surfer" then "College Entrance Test Prep." Now you are ready to practice for standardized tests.