FCPS pays for multiple databases to help teachers with instruction and students with research. Using databases guarantees that a professional source has vetted and edited the information. Databases also have tools built in that allow for easy citing, and translations. They also include readability features. Frederick County Public Library also has a variety of databases you can access with a library card or students can use their Student Success Card which uses their student ID number.
Many databases are purchased at the county level and are available to all schools. Some databases are purchased for a certain level such as all Elementary schools. Occasionally individual schools may also use their funds to purchase databases.
Some of our most popular student databases for each level are as follows:
Elementary School
Britannica
FactCite
PebbleGo
Teaching Books
Middle School
ABC-CLIO
Britannica
SIRS
Teaching Books
High School
ABC-CLIO
Britannica
Gale
SIRS
Swank
Teaching Books
To see a list of databases available at your school visit your schools media center website located on the school's site. Usernames and passwords are linked in a document right above them.
Many of our student databases are also great resources for teachers to use with lessons. Staff also may want to check out the following links for other resources.
Use your Student Success Card to Access FCPL Resources!
Student Success Number: 119829 then add your FCPS Student ID Number
Password: Last name
For more information visit the FCPL website: Student Success
