LibGuides: A Thousand Splendid Suns Intro Research: 4: Marriage and Family

To understand the system of family and relationships in Afghanistan find answers to the following questions: What are the marriage expectations and trends? What are the roles and responsibilities of spouses, children, and the elderly?

Criteria: Your visual should include…

A brief summary of the system of family and relationships in Afghanistan
At least four conclusions you have reached about marriage and family in Afghanistan.
Examples to support each conclusion. This support will be research information or anecdotes from news articles.
Images from your research that increase the viewers’ understanding of your topic.

Note: Your fundamental task is to educate your classmates on Afghanistan’s concept of marriage and family. As you complete this task, consider the significance of these concepts and its impact on the country’s people.

FCPS/MHS Databases for International Issues

Britannica - School
Britannica High School Edition explores the updated encyclopedia including thousands of articles, biographies, videos, images and websites. Start with the search term "Afghanistan."
For remote access: Username/ID: school Password: table
Opposing Viewpoints in Context
This database containts continuously updated information and opinions covering controversial issues, both national and internationa;. Username/ID: fcpsmhs Password: knights
SIRS Issue Researcher
SIRS Issues Researcher is a collection of 6 databases for students in grade 6-12 including full-text articles, graphics, photographs, government documents, primary sources, ebooks, and previewed websites.
For remote access: Username/ID: fcpsmhs Password: knights
World History In Context
World History in Context provides contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in World History via full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites.
For remote access: Password: knights
Britannica ImageQuest
Britannica Image Quest contains approximately three million images from more than 50 of the best collections in the world. All images are rights-cleared for non-commercial, educational use--ideal for use in lesson plans, student projects, school websites, and beyond.
For remote access: Username/ID: school Password: table
Issues & Controversies
Issues & Controversies provides exclusive, extensive coverage of hundreds of today's hot topics, with unbiased analysis and rich related resources.
For home or remote access: Username/ID: fcpsmhs Password: knights

Websites

Boys with Brides: Afghanistan's Untold Dilemma of Underage Marriages (published in 2019)
U.S. Investigates "child bride" cases among Afghan evacuees (published directly after Aug 2021)
Reality of Life in Afghanistan (non-profit organization; unknown publishing date)
Land Info: Afghanistan - Marriage Report (published in 2011; over 10 years old)
Children of Afghanistan (undetermined publishing date; seems to be before Aug 2021)
Indiana University Blog Post: Information about our Afghan community (Sept 2021)

NoodleTools for Source Citations

Select the image above to access NoodleTools where you can keep track of all of your research sources: database articles, webpages, and images.

MHS Citation Helper - MLA, APA, Chicago & NoodleTools
Use this guide as you format source citations and use NoodleTools to keep track of research and sources.