LibGuides: A Thousand Splendid Suns Intro Research: 3: Gender in Afghanistan

Review the conditions and treatment of women in Afghanistan, in the past and present, and devise a proposal to improve the quality of life for women in the country.

Criteria: Your visual should include…

A summary of the conditions and treatment of women in Afghanistan (past and present)
Two conclusions you have reached about gender in Afghanistan.
Examples to support each conclusion. This support will be research information or anecdotes from news articles.
Thoughtful, proposed ideas or steps for improved quality of life for women in Afghanistan.
Images from your research that increase the viewers’ understanding of your topic.

Note: Your fundamental task is to educate your classmates on Afghanistan’s gender discrimination. Be sure that your audience understands the impact of this gender discrimination on the country.

FCPS/MHS Databases for International Issues

Britannica - School
Britannica High School Edition explores the updated encyclopedia including thousands of articles, biographies, videos, images and websites. Start with the search term "Afghanistan."
For remote access: Username/ID: school Password: table
Opposing Viewpoints in Context
This database containts continuously updated information and opinions covering controversial issues, both national and internationa;. Username/ID: fcpsmhs Password: knights
SIRS Issue Researcher
SIRS Issues Researcher is a collection of 6 databases for students in grade 6-12 including full-text articles, graphics, photographs, government documents, primary sources, ebooks, and previewed websites.
For remote access: Username/ID: fcpsmhs Password: knights
World History In Context
World History in Context provides contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in World History via full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites.
For remote access: Password: knights
Britannica ImageQuest
Britannica Image Quest contains approximately three million images from more than 50 of the best collections in the world. All images are rights-cleared for non-commercial, educational use--ideal for use in lesson plans, student projects, school websites, and beyond.
For remote access: Username/ID: school Password: table
Issues & Controversies
Issues & Controversies provides exclusive, extensive coverage of hundreds of today's hot topics, with unbiased analysis and rich related resources.
For home or remote access: Username/ID: fcpsmhs Password: knights

Websites

Gender Alert: UN Women (published in 2021)
Congressional Research Service Report (published Jan 2023)
The Guardian: Behind the Burka (published in 2001! after invasion)
Global Citizen - 9 Facts about Gender Inequality (published Feb 2023)
Human Rights Watch: "I Had to Run Away" - The Imprisonment of Women and Girls for "Moral Crimes" in Afghanistan (published in 2011)

NoodleTools for Source Citations

Select the image above to access NoodleTools where you can keep track of all of your research sources: database articles, webpages, and images.

MHS Citation Helper - MLA, APA, Chicago & NoodleTools
Use this guide as you format source citations and use NoodleTools to keep track of research and sources.