LibGuides: I-Search Project for College & Careers: MHS: Websites

Websites with Career Information

CITING TIP: When citing information from Occupational Outlook Handbook:

Use NoodleTools template Website > Government Publication > Online Reference Source then fill out the blanks as follows: Website = U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics Reference source/editor = U.S. Department of Labor Type of reference = other Title of reference source = Occupational Outlook Handbook

CITING TIP: When citing sources from all other websites listed below:

Use NoodleTools template: Website > Webpage. If you need further instructions on how to do this, visit the NoodleTools Help Desk page "How to create and edit a source citation."

Occupational Outlook Handbook
The Occupational Outlook Handbook (OOH) provides information on what workers do; the work environment; education, training, and other qualifications; pay; the job outlook; information on state and area data; similar occupations; and sources of additional information, for 324 occupational profiles, covering about 4 out of 5 jobs in the economy.
more...less...
Use NoodleTools template pathway: Website > Government Publication > Online Reference Source then fill out the blanks as noted at the top of this box.
iSeek Career Clusters
Use career clusters to organize your search. Career clusters help you find your way to over 500 career and 60 industry descriptions. Read more about career clusters.
more...less...
Use NoodleTools template pathway: Website > Webpage. See notes at top for more information.
O*Net OnLine
The O*NET database contains hundreds of standardized and occupation-specific descriptors on almost 1,000 occupations covering the entire U.S. economy. The database, which is available to the public at no cost, is continually updated from input by a broad range of workers in each occupation.
more...less...
MLA and APA citations are also listed at the bottom of each source page on this website. Use NoodleTools template pathway: Website > Webpage then use Quick Cite at top of page to paste citation from site and look at MLA Guide Tab (upper right) to ensure all formatting (capitalization, italics, etc.) is correct.
CollegeBoard Careers
Browse major and career profiles using broad categories, or use the tools to search by keyword or interest.
more...less...
Use NoodleTools template pathway: Website > Webpage. See notes at top for more information.
Today's Military (includes all branches)
The Today’s Military website is produced by the United States Department of Defense as a resource for young adults, parents and educators curious about military service. With cooperation from the Service branches, our goal is to paint an accurate picture of what it’s like to work, live and serve in today’s Military. Interviews with active-duty service members provide genuine insight into the challenges and rewards of service. Interactive tools allow you to explore the range of military career opportunities, estimate military pay and explore the less tangible benefits of service.
more...less...
Use NoodleTools template pathway: Website > Webpage. See notes at top for more information.
Careers in the Military (includes all branches)
Choosing GUIDED EXPLORATION, will provide students the opportunity to explore the types of military careers that match their career interest profile (RAISEC or Holland Code Test). Choosing ADVANCED SEARCH allows students to search military careers that match their aptitude strength (Math, Verbal, Science/Technology).
more...less...
Use NoodleTools template pathway: Website > Webpage. See notes at top for more information.
Career One Stop
Learn details about any occupation including what you might do on the job, how much you might earn, and how much education or training you might need.
more...less...
MLA and APA citations are also listed at the bottom of each source page (under "Help" > "Cite this website") on this website. Use NoodleTools template pathway: Website > Webpage then use Quick Cite at top of page to paste citation from site and look at MLA Guide Tab (upper right) to ensure all formatting (capitalization, italics, etc.) is correct; if you are citing a specific article/topic then add that as the "article title" in the NoodleTools template without an author.

Haven't Settled on a Career Pathway Yet?

If you haven't settled on a career pathway just yet, consider taking one or more of these career assessment surveys to better understand which pathway fits with your personality, interests, skills, knowledge, lifestyle and educational goals.

Holland Code Career Test
Holland Codes and abbreviation RIASEC refer to John Holland's six personality types: Realistic (R), Investigative (I), Artistic (A), Social (S), Enterprising (E) and Conventional (C). According to Holland’s Theory of Career Choice, choosing work or an education program environment that matches, or is similar to your personality, will most likely lead to success and satisfaction. The test consists of 48 tasks that you will have to rate by how much you would enjoy performing each on a scale of (1) dislike (2) slightly dislike (3) neither like not dislike (4) slightly enjoy (5) enjoy. The test will take most five to ten minutes to complete. (NOTE: You do NOT need to login and create an account to complete the test.)
Sample Results for Holland Code Career Test
This is an example of the kinds of results you will get when you take this survey.
The Princeton Review Career Quiz
Answer 24 questions and the results will tell you the areas you are most interested in and the recommended careers for you.
Sample 1 Results for Princeton Review Career Quiz
This is an example of the kinds of results you will get when you take this survey.
Sample 2 Results for Princeton Review Career Quiz
This is an example of the kinds of results you will get when you take this survey.
iSeek Cluster Survey
Everyone has a different way to describe themselves and what they like to do. This survey lets you rate activities you enjoy, your personal qualities, and school subjects you like. Then you can see which career clusters are a match for your interests (takes about 10 minutes).

Websites with College Information

When it comes to citing these websites in NoodleTools, use the template: Website > Webpage.

Need help? Visit the NoodleTools Help Desk page "How to create and edit a source citation."

College Atlas
College Atlas provides higher-education, college and university, degree, program, career, salary, and other helpful information to students, faculty, institutions, and other internet audiences. Presented information and data are subject to change.
College Board College Search
Find colleges where you’ll thrive. Don’t fall for the myth of the perfect college. Learn why taking a close look at yourself is key to college planning.
College Navigator
Build a list of schools, pinpoint locations with an interactive map, browse lists of institutions with the highest and lowest tuition & fees and net price, and more!
College Results Online
College Results Online (CRO) is an interactive,
user-friendly Web tool designed to provide policymakers, counselors, parents, students, and others with information about college graduation rates for nearly any four-year college or university in the country.
OnlineU - Guide to Online Schools
Online degrees are available in 134 popular subjects that cover 37,031 unique programs from online schools. They are available at the associate, bachelor's, master's, doctoral, and certificate levels. Every school on our website is accredited by an organization recognized by the Department of Education. This list provides the number of online colleges offering degrees in every subject as well as any program-specific accreditation students should pay attention to and average salary statistics.
Online Bachelor's Degrees and Programs
Pursuing an accredited online bachelor's degree can help you take the next step in your career - without leaving your home. Through your program, you'll attend online lectures, study from home, manage a busy schedule and interact virtually with professors and classmates.

An online college degree may appeal to those who want more flexibility in completing their education, or who want to take classes while working full time or parenting. Choosing where to enroll online will likely be challenging, but below you'll find tools, advice and other resources to make your search easier.

Google Advanced Search for Websites & Images

Narrow down search results for complex searches by using the Advanced Search page. For example, you can find sites updated in the last 24 hours or images that are in black and white.

Do an Advanced Search

Go to the Advanced Search page.
- Advanced Search for websites - for best results, search domains .edu, .gov, and .org (one at a time)
- Advanced Search for images
In the "Find pages with" section, enter your search terms.
In the "Then narrow your results by" section, choose the filters you want to use. You can use one or more filters.
Click Advanced Search.

Tip: You can also use many of these filters in the search box with search operators.

Wikipedia: Academic Use Consideration

Wikipedia is not a reliable source for academic writing or research. Wikipedia is increasingly used by people in the academic community, from freshman students to distinguished professorship, as an easily accessible tertiary source for information about anything and everything, and as a quick "ready reference", to get a sense of a concept or idea.

However, citation of Wikipedia in research papers may be considered unacceptable, because Wikipedia is not a reliable source.