Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

I-Search Project for College & Careers: MHS: Websites & Databases

Wikipedia: Academic Use

Wikipedia is not a reliable source for academic writing or research. Wikipedia is increasingly used by people in the academic community, from freshman students to distinguished professorship, as an easily accessible tertiary source for information about anything and everything, and as a quick "ready reference", to get a sense of a concept or idea.

However, citation of Wikipedia in research papers may be considered unacceptable, because Wikipedia is not a reliable source.

Frederick County Public Library Databases with Career Information

 

Explore the Business Reference eBooks from Gale or Reference USA at the Frederick County Public Libraries (FCPL). 

To access FCPL resources, please use your FCPL Student Success Card (every FCPS student has one!

  • Type 119829 along with the eight-digit student ID number as the username.
  • Then use “student” as the password). 

Please see MHS Library staff if you need assistance with using this "card". 

MHS Databases with Career Information

Tips for Database Searching (College of the Siskiyous) - Searching for articles in a library database is different than searching with Google. Here are some tips to get you started.

 

The Web vs. Library Databases (Arizona State University) - Explains how the two resources are different and why you should use databases for research.

 

This database contains approximately three million images more than 50 of the best collections in the world. All images are rights-cleared for non-commercial, educational use. This database provides citations, however, you will need to use the "Quick Cite" feature in NoodleTools to export the source to your NoodleTools project.

 

For home or remote access:   Username/ID: school   Password: table

 

 

Use this database portal to search across 23 Gale databases at once. You will gain access to academic journals, books, news, images, videos, and audio files. Here's how to import Gale database citations to your NoodleTools project.

 

For home or remote access:  Password:  knights

 

 

Learn360.png

 

 

This database provides students with access to more than 130,000 multimedia resources. Be sure to sign in via Google (be sure you are signed in to your FCPS Google account first). You will find dozens of videos related to various careers by searching "Careers" and filtering for grades 9-12This database does not provide citations and you will need to use the following path for the appropriate NoodleTools template: Viewed/Heard Live > Film or Video Recording > Database (on left) > Choose (in yellow block) Complete Film or Video Clip/Segment.

 

 

A database of current events stories tailor-made for classroom use. Please sign in via Google Sign In (be sure you are in your school account first) and search for your career pathway (e.g., engineering, journalism, nurse, pilot, etc.) This database does not provide citations and you will need to use the following path for the appropriate NoodleTools template: Database > (look at by-line for source type to determine next step) Original Content OR Journal OR Magazine OR Newspaper

Haven't Settled on a Career Pathway Yet?

If you haven't settled on a career pathway just yet, consider taking one or more of these career assessment surveys to better understand which pathway fits with your personality, interests, skills, knowledge, lifestyle and educational goals.

Websites with Career Information


CITING TIP: When citing information from Occupational Outlook Handbook: 

Use NoodleTools template Website > Government Publication > Online Reference Source then fill out the blanks as follows: Website = U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics Reference source/editor = U.S. Department of Labor  Type of reference = other  Title of reference source = Occupational Outlook Handbook

 

CITING TIP: When citing sources from all other websites listed below:

Use NoodleTools template: Website > Webpage. If you need further instructions on how to do this, visit the NoodleTools Help Desk page "How to create and edit a source citation."

Websites with College Information

When it comes to citing these websites in NoodleTools, use the template: Website > Webpage.

 

Need help? Visit the NoodleTools Help Desk page "How to create and edit a source citation."