Wikipedia is not a reliable source for academic writing or research. Wikipedia is increasingly used by people in the academic community, from freshman students to distinguished professorship, as an easily accessible tertiary source for information about anything and everything, and as a quick "ready reference", to get a sense of a concept or idea.
However, citation of Wikipedia in research papers may be considered unacceptable, because Wikipedia is not a reliable source.
Tips for Database Searching (College of the Siskiyous) - Searching for articles in a library database is different than searching with Google. Here are some tips to get you started.
The Web vs. Library Databases (Arizona State University) - Explains how the two resources are different and why you should use databases for research.
Find articles, images, videos, and websites for a dictator, country or point in history. This database provides citations, however, you will need to use the "Quick Cite" feature in NoodleTools to export the source to your NoodleTools project. Use the following NoodleTools template pathway: Database > Original Content (for articles) OR Photo or Image (born digital) OR Video Clip (online) OR Map or Chart (born digital)
For remote access: Access ID: school Passcode: table
This database contains approximately three million images more than 50 of the best collections in the world. All images are rights-cleared for non-commercial, educational use. This database provides citations, however, you will need to use the "Quick Cite" feature in NoodleTools to export the source to your NoodleTools project. Use the following NoodleTools template pathway: Database > Photo or Image (born digital) OR Map or Chart (born digital)
For remote access: Access ID: school Passcode: table
Find information, images, videos, and audio files for a dictator. Be sure to filter for subject, resource type, etc. to narrow your search. Here's how to export Gale database citations to your NoodleTools project.
For remote access: Password: bears
Many of the same biographies as Biography in Context, but with articles discussing the historical background in which the dictator ruled.
Here's how to export Gale database citations to your NoodleTools project.
For remote access: Password: bears
Finds articles discussing the historical background in which the dictator ruled. This database covers human history around the globe—from the beginnings of the Renaissance to the present day. Here's how to export ABC-CLIO citations (the same instructions used for Gale) to your NoodleTools project.
For remote access: Username/ID: fcpsohs Password: bears
Find video segments about a dictator, country or point in history. Be sure to sign in via Google (be sure you are signed in to your FCPS Google account first). Be sure to filter for grades 9-12 or other features. This database will export citations to your NoodleTools project. Look for the "cite" link, choose the appropriate citation style, then click on NoodleTools to export the citation. Follow the prompts, as needed. If you need further help, follow these instructions (which are for Gale, but Learn360 works exactly the same way).
When it comes to citing these websites in NoodleTools, use the template:
WEBSITE-->WEBPAGE
CARTOON: MUSSOLINI, 1940. - 'It Is My Wish.' American cartoon by D.R. Fitzpatrick, 1940, on Italian dictator Benito Mussolini's declaration of war against France on 10 June 1940. Fine Art. Britannica ImageQuest, Encyclopædia Britannica, 25 May 2016.
When it comes to citing these websites in NoodleTools, use the suggested templates noted at the end of each website description under "more...".
