Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
NoodleTools Tips for Citing Print and Digital Books
How to import a book citation using an ISBN - If you are citing a book or other non-periodical source (e.g., magazine, newspaper, journal, etc.) in NoodleTools, use WorldCat (a global catalog of library collections) to import the source information directly into your NoodleTools form. NOTE: this may not work for all books and be sure you have the title with the proper copyright dates, as books get re-published over the years and come in a variety of formats.
How to cite a book from scratch - a (3:48) video screencast by OHS Library Media Specialist Mrs. Owen, if you are unable to cite it in NoodleTools with the aforementioned Worldcat instructions. NOTE: this video was created before the July 2021 NoodleTools updates, but the information is still relevant.
Print & Digital Books in OHS Library Catalog
The OHS library catalog is the place to start to identify dictator or country books (print or digital) held in the Library's collections. Be sure to use the search filters in the left-hand sidebar; this will allow you to limit your search by format, collection, and subject.
The list of print titles, below, is not an exhaustive list. To find more print books, search the library catalog in the link above.
Hint: If you find a book that matches your research interest, be sure to look at the subject headings. These subject headings may lead you to other useful materials.
Subject Headings in the Oakdale High School Library Catalog include:
Comrades! by Traces the history of communism from its earliest origins to the present day, profiling the key individuals and events that shaped communism, describing the contributions of Marx and Engels, the Russian and Chinese Revolutions, the rise of the Soviet bloc, the spread of communism, its ideology and organization, and its collapse in Eastern Europe an
Call Number: 335.4 SER
Publication Date: 2007-05-31
Dictatorship by Examines dictatorship as a political system and looks at dictatorships around the world and throughout history.
Call Number: 321.9 FRI
Publication Date: 2008-01-15
Dictatorship by This book discusses the system of dictatorship: how it developed as a set of ideas from its origins to the present, how it has evolved in practice, and how it benefits or harms the people who live under it.
Call Number: 321.9 TAM
Publication Date: 2007-09-10
Mao Zedong by The historical verdict is still out on Mao Zedong. Was he a hero who unified China into one nation after a century of chaos? Was he a man who consistently upheld the rights of the poor and downtrodden? Was he a power-mad villain responsible for the deaths of of millions of Chinese? Was he a communist who became an emperor? Or was Mao all of these things? This anthology takes Mao from his humble beginnings as the son of a peasant to his position of ultimate power as the head of the world's most populous nation.
Call Number: 951.05 MAO
Publication Date: 2003-12-10
Stalin's Wars by This breakthrough book provides a detailed reconstruction of Stalin’s leadership from the outbreak of the Second World War in 1939 to his death in 1953. Making use of a wealth of new material from Russian archives, Geoffrey Roberts challenges a long list of standard perceptions of Stalin: his qualities as a leader; his relationships with his own generals and with other great world leaders; his foreign policy; and his role in instigating the Cold War. While frankly exploring the full extent of Stalin’s brutalities and their impact on the Soviet people, Roberts also uncovers evidence leading to the stunning conclusion that Stalin was both the greatest military leader of the twentieth century and a remarkable politician who sought to avoid the Cold War and establish a long-term detente with the capitalist world. By means of an integrated military, political, and diplomatic narrative, the author draws a sustained and compelling personal portrait of the Soviet leader. The resulting picture is fascinating and contradictory, and it will inevitably change the way we understand Stalin and his place in history. Roberts depicts a despot who helped save the world for democracy, a personal charmer who disciplined mercilessly, a utopian ideologue who could be a practical realist, and a warlord who undertook the role of architect of post-war peace.
Call Number: 947.08 ROB
Publication Date: 2007-01-15
Strongman by From the bestselling author of the Don't Know Much About® books comes a dramatic account of the origins of democracy, the history of authoritarianism, and the reigns of five of history's deadliest dictators. A Washington Post Best Book of the Year! A YALSA 2021 Nonfiction Award Nominee! What makes a country fall to a dictator? How do authoritarian leaders--strongmen--capable of killing millions acquire their power? How are they able to defeat the ideal of democracy? And what can we do to make sure it doesn't happen again? By profiling five of the most notoriously ruthless dictators in history--Adolf Hitler, Benito Mussolini, Joseph Stalin, Mao Zedong, and Saddam Hussein--Kenneth C. Davis seeks to answer these questions, examining the forces in these strongmen's personal lives and historical periods that shaped the leaders they'd become. Meticulously researched and complete with photographs, Strongman provides insight into the lives of five leaders who callously transformed the world and serves as an invaluable resource in an era when democracy itself seems in peril. * "A fascinating, highly readable portrayal of infamous men that provides urgent lessons for democracy now." --Publishers Weekly, starred review "Strongman is a book that is both deeply researched and deeply felt, both an alarming warning and a galvanizing call to action, both daunting and necessary to read and discuss." --Cynthia Levinson, author of Fault Lines in the Constitution
Call Number: 321.9 DAV
Publication Date: 2020-10-06
Gale eBooks (multi-user access) @ OHS Library
All Gale eBooks are multi-user access books, meaning many students can look at the book simultaneously without checking it out from the library.
The list, below, is not an exhaustive list of Gale dictator eBooks. To find other titles use the search box below or use this curated list of dictator eBooks.
For remote access, use the Password: bears (you must be logged in to your FCPS account to access). Here's how to export Gale eBook citations to your NoodleTools project.
(Idi Amin) in: International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences by This 9-volume study of social sciences is a successor to the Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences (ESS, 1930-1935) and the initial set of the International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences (IESS, 1968) -- two groundbreaking MacMillan works that established standards for knowledge in social science research and practice (CHOICE, 2001). The entirely new International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences covers scholarship and fields that have emerged and matured since the publication of the original international edition. Like its predecessors, the set meets the needs of high school and college students, researchers inside and outside academia, and lay readers in public libraries. The new set highlights the expanding influence of economics in social science research and features nearly 3,000 entirely new articles and important biographies contributed by thousands of scholars (including several Nobel prize winners) from around the world on a wide array of global topics, including: achievement testing, censorship, personality measurement, aging, income distribution, foreign aid (political and economic aspects), food (world problems, consumption patterns), cultural adaptation, comparative health-care systems, terrorism, political correctness, agricultural innovation, legislation of morality, sexual violence and exploitation, white collar crime. The new 2nd edition also features biographical profiles of the major contributors to the study of the social sciences, past and present.
Call Number: multi-user digital book
Publication Date: 2007-11-01
(Ion Antonescu) in: Terrorism by This encyclopedia provides information on individuals, groups, places, events, and issues related to terrorism in the United States and internationally. Readers will learn about state-sponsored terrorism, religious terrorism, right-wing and left-wing terrorism. Entries include coverage on terrorist leaders and terrorist organizations as well as entries on the people, agencies, and organizations that are specialized in fighting terrorism.
Call Number: Multi-user digital book
Publication Date: 2007-05-24
(Gaius Julius Caesar) in: Ancient Greece and Rome Presenting the history, mythology and culture of the great civilizations of Greece and Rome, this work covers such areas as philosophy, technology, literature and art.
Call Number: Multi-user digital book
Publication Date: 1998-05-20
(François Duvalier) in: Encyclopedia of African American Culture and History by This second edition is an expansion of the 1996 classic and its 2000 supplement. Whereas the first edition focused almost exclusively on the United States, this new set identifies and addresses broad themes critical to understanding the texture of the cultures, achievements, challenges, and promise of the 150 million people of African descent who live in North America, Central and South America, and the Caribbean. It is an authoritative and comprehensive information about Black history, figures, and accomplishments throughout the Americas now have a defining and current reference.
Call Number: Multi-user digital book
Publication Date: 2005-12-16
(Francisco Franco) in: Encyclopedia of the Age of War and Reconstruction by The tumultuous recent century of Europe's history is traced in this five-volume set, which picks up the story begun in its companion set, Europe 1789-1914 . Profiling the age of war and reconstruction, Europe Since 1914 details European history from the Bolshevik Revolution to the European Union, linking it to the history of the rest of the world. Many transformations in the European story are covered in this easily accessible collection of about 675 illustrations and 920 articles: Europe sundered by war and genocide, Europe reconfigured after World War II and the Cold War, and Europe making a new place for itself on the world stage. Written by about 500 leading experts from universities all over the world, the set effectively covers a broad scope, encompassing the period's scientific and economic, social and cultural, political and military developments. Users will find in it the major facts about the period, clear explanations of the main lines of scholarly interpretation and guidance through scholarly controversies. Sidebars add interest and clarification, a chronology and thematic outline offer concise context that builds meaningful connections, and article specific bibliographies offer guidance for further reading. Each volume also includes an 8-page color insert and a comprehensive index that allows quick access to target information.
Call Number: Multi-user digital book
Publication Date: 2006-09-20
The librarian is always happy to help you!
In Person - during school hours
7:20 am - 2:30 pm, M-F
Sign Up for SET or Lunch Pass
on Library Website
240-566-9690 (Help Desk) or
240-566-9692 (Media Office)
By Email - Renate.Owen@fcps.org
Frederick County Public Library Catalog
Find more books about dictators and countries at the Frederick County Public Libraries (FCPL). To check out books from any Frederick County Public Library (FCPL) branch, please use your FCPL Student Success Card number (every FCPS student has one!). Please ask your Library Media Specialist if you need assistance with using this "card".