How to import a book citation using an ISBN - If you are citing a book or other non-periodical source (e.g., magazine, newspaper, journal, etc.) in NoodleTools, use WorldCat (a global catalog of library collections) to import the source information directly into your NoodleTools form. NOTE: this may not work for all books and be sure you have the title with the proper copyright dates, as books get re-published over the years and come in a variety of formats.
How to cite a book from scratch - a (3:48) video screencast. NOTE: this video was created before the July 2021 NoodleTools updates, but the information is still relevant.
The OHS library catalog is the place to start to identify print or digital books held in the Library's collections. Be sure to use the search filters in the left-hand sidebar; this will allow you to limit your search by format, collection, and subject. The collection of country titles, below, is not an exhaustive list. To find more books, search the library catalog.
Brilliant Maps for Curious Minds by
A singular atlas of 100 infographic maps from thought-provoking to flat-out fun. And don't miss the next book in the series, North American Maps for Curious Minds! Publisher's note: Brilliant Maps for Curious Minds was published in the UK under the title Brilliant Maps. Which countries don't have rivers? Which ones have North Korean embassies? Who drives on the "wrong" side of the road? How many national economies are bigger than California's? And where can you still find lions in the wild? You'll learn answers to these questions and many more in Brilliant Maps for Curious Minds. This one-of-a-kind atlas is packed with eye-opening analysis (Which nations have had female leaders?), whimsical insight (Where can't you find a McDonald's?), and surprising connections that illuminate the contours of culture, history, and politics. Each of these 100 maps will change the way you see the world--and your place in it.
China by
China is a trip-of-a-lifetime adventure for travelers in search of cutting-edge art and culture, rugged natural beauty, and cultural diversity. In full-color and with helpful magazine-style illustrated features, Fodor's China shows off the splendor of the country's historical treasures, vibrant culinary culture, and its colorful ethnic minorities like no other guide.
Culture and Customs of Afghanistan by
Afghanistan has been at the crossroads of many cultures and civilizations, occupying a unique place in the cultural geography of Central Asia. Invading tribes and armies passed through ancient Afghanistan and left their imprint on the culture, customs, and way of life there. In recent history, Afghanistan has been the focus of international attention since the Soviet invasion and occupation of 1979-1989, the brutal civil war that ensued, and the subsequent U.S. invasion to topple the Taliban regime. As the country struggles to stabilize and rebuild, this volume is the first to reveal the people and ways of life that have been in flux for so long. Emadi brings an insider's knowledge and authority to the accessible narrative. Students and general readers will find a clear explanation of the land, people, economy, social stratification, and history as context for the chapters that follow. In the chapter on Religion and Religious Thought, the predominant Islamic religion is largely intertwined with political events that have brought Afghanistan such attention. The lesser-known literature and the arts are brought to light next. A strong Architecture, Housing, and Settlements chapter highlights many styles unfamiliar to most Westerners. Coverage of Afghan cooking and cuisine brings a more intimate understanding of the culture. The chapter on Family, Women, and Gender will draw readers in with its survey of how the family works, what is expected of women, and what courtship, marriage, childrearing, and education are like today. A standout of the Festivals and Leisure Activities chapter is the vivid rendering of the sport called Buzkashi, where men on horseback vie to move an animal carcass across a field to a goal. A final chapter on Lifestyles, Media, and Education describes the urban vs. rural lifestyles, the state of communications, and the prospects for schooling post Taliban. A country map, glossary, resource guide, and photos complement the text.
Culture and Customs of France by
The French are of perennial interest, for, among other things, their style, their cuisine and wine, and their cultural output. Culture and Customs of France is a thoroughly jam-packed narrative through the glories that France continues to offer the world. The volume is a boon for preparing country reports, a must-read for travelers, and perfect for culture studies. Chapters on the land, people, and history, religion, social customs, gender, family, and marriage, cinema and media, literature, food and fashion, architecture and art, and performing arts are current and pleasurable to read.
Culture and Customs of Ireland by
Ireland and the Irish are beloved today in the United States, not the least because of the large Irish-American population. The Irish have contributed a great deal to the Western literary canon and to the arts, and their way of life on the Emerald Isle is fabled. Culture and Customs of Ireland is the source for those interested in learning about the real Ireland and how its culture and customs came to be. Scanlan has her finger on the pulse of the country as it booms into the twenty-first century. This insightful survey of the contemporary scene is a one-stop resource for country study reports, general reading, and travel preparation. Scanlan excels at portraying the vibrancy of Ireland, which has undergone a remarkable transformation since the 1980s and is now the second-wealthiest country in the European Union. At the same time, embattled Northern Ireland has taken key steps toward security and peace. This book surveys the cultural and political heritage of the Irish people, North and South. It highlights the remarkable accomplishments of Ireland's artists, writers, musicians and performers. It investigates the role of religion in Irish life, and the ways in which prosperity, feminism, and scandals within the churches have weakened that role. It looks at the impact of immigrants and refugees on contemporary society, at the increasing visibility of women on both sides of the border, and at the growing acceptance of gays. It also looks at daily life in Ireland_people going to work, shopping, finding someone to care for their children and the like. Most particularly, it shows the challenges of maintaining Irish identity in the face of globalization.
Culture and Customs of Liberia by
Liberia has a strong connection to the United States in that it was founded by former slaves in 1822. Although Liberia had existed as an independent African nation and a symbol of hope to the African peoples under the rule of various colonial powers, its recent history has been bedeviled by a prolonged upheaval following a military coup d'etat in 1980. In this context, the narrative highlights the distinctiveness of Liberians in their negotiation of traditional indigenous and modern practices, and the changes wrought by Christianity and Western influences.
Culture and Customs of Uganda by
Since achieving independence from Great Britain in 1962, the East African country of Uganda has been ravaged by political turmoil and the more recent crisis of the AIDS epidemic, but is now in the process of rebuilding and democratizing. Culture and Customs of Uganda is a fascinating overview of the current state of Ugandan society, where largely rural ethnic groups are experiencing the pull of urban centers, while the changes brought about by Western influences bear on practically every aspect of people's lives. Examples from the main ethnic groups are used to explain traditional culture and adaptations to modern life in religion, gender roles, courtship and marriage, work, education, family life, ceremonies, the arts, media, and more. This is the essential reference source to turn to for solid insight into Uganda. The wealth of detail in the coverage of the subjects above plus the land, people, history, literature, architecture/housing, cuisine, dress, gender roles, social customs and lifestyle, provides readers with broad sense of the country and its inhabitants. The sensitive narrative conveys the nuances between old and new, urban and rural, elite and poor for each topic. In addition, the evolution of Ugandan peoples is superbly demonstrated. Highlights include a discussion of the ways in which adherents of world religions such as Christianity and Islam mix these with traditional African religious belief in spirits, diviners, and rainmakers. The book also explores patriarchy and the social and inheritance system that has hindered women's education and prospects and exposed them to HIV/AIDS. Finally, there is a celebration of the various forms of artistic expression, such as drumming, ceremonial dance, and handicrafts, particularly ceramic pottery, that have won accolades, as well as a look at artists who excel in writing poetry, producing hip-hop, and painting batiks for popular consumption.
Culture and Customs of Zimbabwe by
Zimbabwe, formerly known as Rhodesia, won its independence from Great Britain in 1980 yet continues to feel the impact of Western lifestyles and prejudices. This rich, accessible overview freshly examines Zimbabwe, evoking the contemporary ways of life in a largely homogenous and agricultural country. Students and general readers will discover an engaging narrative that ranges from an explanation of the beer culture to a powerful discussion of marriage, family, and gender roles from the Zimbabwean perspective. Owomoyela also authoritatively conveys the coexistence of traditional and Western forces today in such areas as religion and music. A chronology and glossary accompany the text.
Fodor's Essential Scotland by
Whether you want to explore Edinburgh, sip Scottish whisky, or hike the Highlands, the local Fodor's travel experts in Scotland are here to help! Fodor's Essential Scotland is part of the award-winning Fodor's Essential series recognized by Booklist as the "Best Travel Guide in 2019." This guidebook is packed with maps, carefully curated recommendations, and everything else you need to simplify your trip-planning process and make the most of your time. This new edition has been FULLY-REDESIGNED IN FULL COLOR with an easy-to-read layout, fresh information, and beautiful color photos. GET INSPIRED * AN ILLUSTRATED ULTIMATE EXPERIENCES GUIDE to the top things to see and do * PHOTO-FILLED "BEST OF" FEATURES on Scotland's Best Museums, Scotland's Best Outdoor Adventures, and Scotland's Best Castles * BRAND-NEW COLOR PHOTOS throughout to spark your wanderlust! * UP-TO-DATE and HONEST RECOMMENDATIONS covering the most recommended sights, restaurants, hotels, nightlife, shopping, performing arts, activities, and more GET PLANNING * MULTIPLE ITINERARARIES to effectively organize your days and maximize your time * SPECIAL FEATURES on Playing Golf in Scotland and Scottish Whisky * COVERS: Edinburgh, Glasgow, St. Andrews, Dundee, Angus, the Trossachs, Loch Lomond, Aberdeen, Inverness, Speyside, Loch Ness, the Highlands, Isle of Skye, and more GET GOING * MORE THAN 40 DETAILED MAPS to navigate confidently * TRIP-PLANNING TOOLS AND PRACTICAL TIPS on when to go, getting around, beating the crowds, and saving time and money * HISTORICAL AND CULTURAL INSIGHTS providing rich context on the local people, politics, art, architecture, cuisine, geography and more * LOCAL WRITERS to help you find the under-the-radar gems Planning on visiting the rest of Great Britain? Check out Fodor's Essential Great Britain, Fodor's Essential England, and Fodor's London. ABOUT FODOR'S AUTHORS: Each Fodor's Travel Guide is researched and written by local experts. Fodor's has been offering expert advice for all tastes and budgets for over 80 years. For more travel inspiration, you can sign up for our travel newsletter at fodors.com/newsletter/signup, or follow us @FodorsTravel on Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter. We invite you to join our friendly community of travel experts at fodors.com/community to ask any other questions and share your experience with us! IMPORTANT NOTE: The digital edition of this guide does not contain all the images included in the physical edition.
Islamic Art and Culture by
"Now more then ever, Islam and Islamic culture is a topic that is as misunderstood as it is fascinating. In this exquisite oversized volume spanning 1200 years of history, celebrated scholar Professor Nasser D. Khalili presents a benchmark visual history of the peoples, the cultures, and the artworks that have defined the Islamic world. From Spain to Indonesia, North Africa to China, more than fifty of the world's nations are of the Muslim faith. The material culture of the Muslim people is accordingly rich and varied, ranging from huge architectural projects to minutely detailed miniature paintings, exquisitely patterned silk textiles and bold calligraphy." "Histories of the art of the Islamic lands have, until now, either been very general or highly focused on particular regions or types of artifacts. The oversized format of Islamic Art and Culture provides the reader with the magnificent sweep of the arts of Islam in a unique and accessible way. Diverse developments throughout the Islamic world are compared simultaneously across time and place, and specific objects and buildings seen in the light of key events in Muslim history. From calligraphy to carpets, armor to architecture, this book voluptuously reveals the immense heritage handed down through Islamic artists over the centuries and examines their relationship to their Western peers."--BOOK JACKET.
Sweden by
Illustrated with full-color, specially commissioned photographs and informative maps, ""The Countries of the World"" series draws students into some of the world's most interesting and important countries with current, detailed information on virtually everything that defines life in a particular place, from economy and the environment to geography and social trends. The books trace similar paths through life in each country, making them useful for comparative studies or for an in-depth look into a single country. Each attractively designed book contains a wealth of information presented in easy-to-read text, valuable case studies that highlight important topics (such as a flooding, a particular industry, a specific example of urban regeneration, or an environmental problem), and key statistics as well as clearly formulated charts and diagrams.
All Gale eBooks are multi-user access books, meaning many students can look at the book simultaneously without checking it out from the library.
The list, below, is not an exhaustive list of books to explore for your Culture Festival project. To find other titles use the search box below. For remote access, use the Password: bears (you must be logged in to your FCPS account to access). Here's how to export Gale eBook citations to your NoodleTools project.
To find a specific country in each of the books, below, click on a cover then search the name of your country in the SEARCH WITHIN PUBLICATION BOX (at right). 
Countries of the World and Their Leaders Yearbook 2008 2 Vol Set by
Covering nearly 200 countries, this yearbook is filled with reports from the U.S. Department of State. Entries typically cover the geography, history, government, and political conditions, economy and state relations with the United States for each. Includes information on passport applications, visa requirements, regulations and duties, international health and disease, national holidays and more.
Encyclopedia of Food and Culture by
This new three-volume set presents 600 articles on food and its place in human culture and society, covering everything from agronomy to zucchini. Students, academics and general researchers will find entries on everything from food preparation, distribution and storage to holidays and festivals, nutrition and health, and cultures and cuisines. The "Encyclopedia's multidisciplinary articles--including "Comfort Food," "Ethnicity and Food," "Medieval Banquets" and "Nutrient Composition"--are supplemented by 450 photographs and illustrations, sidebars, recipes, menus, timelines and a comprehensive index.
Encyclopedia of Global Religion by
The multi-volume Encyclopedia of Global Religion provides a comprehensive overview of the globalization of religious culture and society around the world in both its historical and contemporary aspects. The encyclopedia includes topics related to the diaspora of cultures and dispersions of peoples; the transitional aspects of religious ideas and practices; the cultural diversity of religious traditions; and the responses of religion-both negative and positive-to multicultural society. The volumes include essays on the contemporary religious society of every country in the world. The contributors to the encyclopedia are leading authorities on these topics from around the world. The editors, Mark Juergensmeyer and Wade Clark Roof., are sociologists of religion at the University of California, Santa Barbara.
Junior Worldmark Encyclopedia of Foods and Recipes of the World by
This new 4-vol. set provides comprehensive coverage of the foods and recipes of approximately 75 cultural groups from more than 60 countries -- from Algeria to Vietnam. Entries provide 10-15 recipes for each group and include data on the agriculture and dietary habits of each group as well as an overview of each group's nutrition and health. Arranged alphabetically by country, entries also describe both traditional and modern methods of preparation and cooking foods. For each country/group, the "Encyclopedia" covers: Foods for religious and holiday celebrations Foods of the group Geographic setting and environment History and food Mealtime customs Politics, economies and nutrition And more Value-added features include lists of sources for further study, including cookbooks and internet sources; sidebars covering related material, including definitions of specific terminology or descriptions of the evolution of a particular cooking method/custom; a timeline of historical progression of dietary customs; and both general and recipe indexes.
Junior Worldmark Encyclopedia of the Nations by
Presents profiles of 194 countries of the world. Topics include climate, plants and animals, population and ethnic groups, religions, transportation, history, government, political parties, judicial system, economy, education, arts, media, tourism, and famous people.
Worldmark Encyclopedia of the Nations by
Some cities included are: Oran, Algeria Nassau, (The) Bahamas Brazzaville, Congo Caracas, Venezuela Santiago, Chile Cape Town, South Africa Paris, FranceAnd moreProfiles are based on U.S. State Department Post Reports. Photos and maps help bring the cities alive.New to this 6th edition are more pictures and updated entries.
Find more books about various countries at the Frederick County Public Libraries (FCPL). To check out books from any Frederick County Public Library (FCPL) branch, please use your FCPL Student Success Card number (every FCPS student has one!). Please ask your Library Media Specialist if you need assistance with using this "card".