Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Culture Fesitval Project : Culture Festival Websites & Databases

This LibGuide will assist Ms. Kenney's sociology students in their efforts to find digital and print resources for the Culture Festival Project, as well as provide instruction on how to cite sources and use various digital presentation platforms.

Wikipedia: Academic Use

Wikipedia is not a reliable source for academic writing or research. Wikipedia is increasingly used by people in the academic community, from freshman students to distinguished professorship, as an easily accessible tertiary source for information about anything and everything, and as a quick "ready reference", to get a sense of a concept or idea.

However, citation of Wikipedia in research papers may be considered unacceptable, because Wikipedia is not a reliable source.

Databases @ OHS Library

Tips for Database Searching (College of the Siskiyous) - Searching for articles in a library database is different than searching with Google. Here are some tips to get you started.

 

The Web vs. Library Databases (Arizona State University) - Explains how the two resources are different and why you should use databases for research.

 

 

 

 

Use this database to find articles, images, videos, and websites. 

This database provides citations, however, you will need to use the "Quick Cite" feature in NoodleTools to export the source to your NoodleTools project.  Use the following NoodleTools template pathway: Database > Original Content (for articles) OR Photo or Image (born digital) OR Video Clip (online) OR Map or Chart (born digital)

For remote access:  Access ID: school   Passcode: table

 

This database contains approximately three million images more than 50 of the best collections in the world. All images are rights-cleared for non-commercial, educational use.

This database provides citations, however, you will need to use the "Quick Cite" feature in NoodleTools to export the source to your NoodleTools project.  Use the following NoodleTools template pathway: Database > Photo or Image (born digital) OR Map or Chart (born digital)

For remote access:  Access ID: school   Passcode: table

 

 

Use this database portal to search across 23 Gale databases at once. You will gain access to academic journals, books, news, images, videos, and audio files. Find information, images, videos, and audio files for a dictator. Be sure to filter for subject, resource type, etc. to narrow your search. Here's how to export Gale database citations to your NoodleTools project.

 

For remote access:  Password:  bears

 

 

Learn360.png

 

 

This database provides students with access to more than 130,000 multimedia resources, including downloadable audio clips, encyclopedia articles, images, maps & flags, and videos. Be sure to sign in via Google (be sure you are signed in to your FCPS Google account first). You will find dozens of videos related to various countries by searching for your country by name and then filtering for grades 9-12TBe sure to sign in via Google (be sure you are signed in to your FCPS Google account first). Be sure to filter for grades 9-12 or other featuresThis database will export citations to your NoodleTools project. Look for the "cite" link, choose the appropriate citation style, then click on NoodleTools to export the citation. Follow the prompts, as needed. If you need further help, follow these instructions (which are for Gale, but Learn360 works exactly the same way). 

 

 

A database of current events stories tailor-made for classroom use. Please sign in via Google Sign In (be sure you are in your school account first) and search for your country. This database does not provide citations and you will need to use the following path for the appropriate NoodleTools template: Database > (look at by-line for source type to determine next step) Original Content OR Journal OR Magazine OR Newspaper

Databases @ Frederick County Public Library

 

Explore the Student Resources at the Frederick County Public Libraries (FCPL). To access FCPL resources, please use your FCPL Student Success Card (every FCPS student has one! Type 119829 along with the eight-digit student ID number as the username. Then use “student” as the password). 

Please see OHS Library staff if you need assistance with using this "card". 

Websites with Country Information


CITING TIP: When it comes to citing these websites in NoodleTools, use the suggested template pathways noted at the end of each website description under "more...". 

Google Advanced Search for Websites & Images

 

 

Narrow down search results for complex searches by using the Advanced Search page. For example, you can find sites updated in the last 24 hours or images that are in black and white.

Do an Advanced Search

  1. Go to the Advanced Search page.
  2. In the "Find pages with" section, enter your search terms.
  3. In the "Then narrow your results by" section, choose the filters you want to use. You can use one or more filters.
  4. Click Advanced Search.
Tip: You can also use many of these filters in the search box with search operators.