LibGuides: Health I Resources: Unit 2: Mental Illness

Research Databases and Recommended Websites

DATABASES

Health and Wellness in Context
An “in-context” database that covers many current day health topics. This is an excellent resource for Health I and II.
Gale Science-in-Context
A database covering a variety of science topics, including current issues with alcohol and marijuana.
P/W: knights
Britannica
An updated encyclopedia including thousands of articles, biographies, videos, images and websites.
For home or remote access: Username/ID: school Password: table
Britannica Image Quest
Contains approximately three million images from more than 50 of the best collections in the world.
For home or remote access: Username/ID: school Password: table

WEBSITES

Johns Hopkins Medicine
Conditions and Diseases - Comprehensive information about mental health conditions, treatments, and expert insights from one of the leading healthcare institutions in the world.
Mayo Clinic
Trusted medical resource offering detailed descriptions of mental health disorders, symptoms, causes, treatments, and expert care options.
Medline Plus
A resource by the National Library of Medicine providing reliable, easy-to-understand information about mental health topics, medications, and related treatments.
National Alliance of Mental Health
The nation's largest grassroots organization offering education, support, and advocacy for individuals affected by mental health conditions and their families.
NIH: Mental Health
A branch of the National Institutes of Health offering authoritative resources for understanding, researching, and treating mental health disorders.