Wikipedia is not a reliable source for academic writing or research. Wikipedia is increasingly used by people in the academic community, from freshman students to distinguished professorship, as an easily accessible tertiary source for information about anything and everything, and as a quick "ready reference", to get a sense of a concept or idea.
However, citation of Wikipedia in research papers may be considered unacceptable, because Wikipedia is not a reliable source.
Tips for Database Searching (College of the Siskiyous) - Searching for articles in a library database is different than searching with Google. Here are some tips to get you started.
The Web vs. Library Databases (Arizona State University) - Explains how the two resources are different and why you should use databases for research.
This database contains approximately three million images more than 50 of the best collections in the world. All images are rights-cleared for non-commercial, educational use. This database provides citations, however, you will need to use the "Quick Cite" feature in NoodleTools to export the source to your NoodleTools project.
For remote access: Access ID: school Passcode: table
Use this database to find articles, images, videos, and websites. This database provides citations, however, you will need to use the "Quick Cite" feature in NoodleTools to export the source to your NoodleTools project.
For remote access: Access ID: school Passcode: table
Nearly 500 vital documents include narratives, regimental histories and songs. Here's how to export Gale database citations to your NoodleTools project.
For remote access: Password: bears
Digital historical documents from over 500 years of world history, curated by Gale and partnering libraries from around the world. Here's how to export Gale database citations to your NoodleTools project.
For remote access: Password: bears
Use this database portal to search across 23 Gale databases at once. You will gain access to academic journals, books, news, images, videos, and audio files. Here's how to export Gale database citations to your NoodleTools project.
For remote access: Password: bears
More than 600 vital documents include personal narratives, sermons and speeches. Here's how to export Gale database citations to your NoodleTools project.
For remote access: Password: bears
Use this database to find newspapers, magazines, journals, images, books, websites, and other resources about your topic. This database exports citations to NoodleTools in the same way Gale databases export to NoodleTools.
For remote access: Username/ID: fcpsohs Password: bears
Narrow down search results for complex searches by using the Advanced Search page. For example, you can find sites updated in the last 24 hours or images that are in black and white.
American Memory - Primary source materials from the collection of the Library of Congress relating to the history and culture of the United States, with over 7 million items from more than 100 historical collections. In addition to documents, the collection includes digitized films, photographs, audio, and maps.
American Social History Project - Founded in 1981 and based at the City University of New York Graduate Center, ASHP/CML produces print, visual, and multimedia materials that explore the richly diverse social and cultural history of the United States.
Crossroads of War - Maryland and the border during the Civil War
Digital Maryland - A collaborative, statewide digitization program headquartered at the Enoch Pratt Free Library/State Library Resource Center in Baltimore, MDCH seeks to digitize and provide free online access to materials relating to the state's history and culture. Since the program began in 2002, MDCH's collections have grown to include over 5,000 items, such as maps, manuscripts, photographs, artwork, books, and other media.
Digital Public Library of America - The DPLA brings together the riches of America’s libraries, archives, and museums, and makes them freely available to the world. Includes primary and secondary sources.
DocsTeach - The National Archives and Records Administration’s DocsTeach, a highly interactive website, allows teachers to create or view lesson plans about primary source documents, build a portfolio and join an online community.
Enoch Pratt Free Library - Baltimore’s public library system includes resources such as their digital collections and the Maryland Department.
Gilder Lehrman Institute for American History - Primary source documents in American History from the Gilder Lehrman collection at Yale University.
Library of Congress - Access to print, pictorial and audio‐visual collections and other digital services; collections include African‐American History, Historic Newspapers, Veterans History, Prints & Photographs, and Performing Arts. Make sure to check out their Primary Source Documents.
Maryland Historical Society - Online exhibitions and library catalog and information about the Student Research Center for History (SeaRCH).
Maryland State Archives - Online primary source documents that relate to Maryland history.
National Archives Online Exhibits - Records of national interest such as governmental documents and records, divided into time periods for easier use. There are helpful resources in the section for educators and students.
Our Documents - Links to 100 milestone documents in American history from 1776 to 1965, including speeches, international treaties, Supreme Court cases, patent designs, and Constitutional amendments that changed the course of history, as well as transcriptions and historical interpretations of these documents.
Smithsonian Research Online - A set of services to the research community both within and outside the Smithsonian Institution. The program assists in capturing the research output of Smithsonian scholars and making it available to Institutional management as well as scientists and historians world‐wide.
Smithsonian Collections Search Center - Search over 4.6 million records with 445,000 images, video and sound files, electronic journals and other resources from the Smithsonian's museums, archives & libraries. US Historical Documents (http://www.law.ou.edu/hist/) A chronology of US historical documents, pre‐colonial to the present day, with links to transcriptions of the documents.
Explore more History & Geneaology databases or Student Resources databases at the Frederick County Public Libraries (FCPL). To access FCPL resources, please use your FCPL Student Success Card (every FCPS student has one! Type 119829 along with the eight-digit student ID number as the username. Then use “student” as the password).
Please see OHS Library staff if you need assistance with using this "card".