Skip to main content

AS2 Research Paper Project : Home

A guide to resources for Mr. Smarick's American Studies II students to write a clear and concise paper based on a topic relating to an approved U.S. history topic in the period 1866 - 2010.

NoodleTools Links

NoodleTools Login

How To Guide: NoodleTools Citing & Research Management Platform

Chicago vs. Turabian

Turabian is a style of writing and formatting that is created and updated by Kate Turbian. It is adapted from the University of Chicago's 'Chicago' style of citation and is simplified for students and researchers. Turabian is most commonly used in the social sciences, such as in History courses.
What is the difference between Chicago and Turabian?
The primary difference is that Turabian is shorter and contains fewer instructions, and that it does not contain information about publication. The Chicago Manual of Style is designed for professionals in the field who are publishing, and has a great deal of instruction on formatting and many other things. Turabian is a pared-down version designed for students writing research papers.
Which should I use?
You should always talk to your teacher, but for the most part, all of the guidelines that you find in Turabian help pages will also apply to Chicago style.

Your Assignment & Rubric for Grading

Research Paper Project Description ‚Äč- This is your guide to what goes into the project. Follow it closely to ensure you include all requirements in your research paper. You may also use this guide to take notes and create a list of your sources cited in Chicago/Turabian style. Please use NoodleTools to properly cite all images, database articles, websites, etc. Essentially, anything that is not your own words, thoughts or work must be cited. 

Rubric for Research Paper Project - Periodically revisit this rubric to ensure you are meeting the highest standards for your research, writing, documentation of sources, mechanics and formatting. Additional tips and guidelines for writing your paper are in the box below the video.

Chicago Style: The Basics (Purdue Owl video, 4:20)

This vidcast covers the basics of formatting a document in Chicago style, including spacing, margins, headers, and use of notes. 

Mr. Smarick's Guidelines & Tips for Writing Your Paper

Rules for Writing the Paper - How to handle footnotes, contractions, personal names & titles, abbreviations, grammar and more. 

How to Cite Sources/Create Footnotes in Chicago/Turabian Style - Check this guide to ensure you know what you DO and DO NOT need to cite. Also, this guide has tips on how to insert footnotes into a Google or Microsoft Word document.  NoodleTools will also help you properly format your footnotes. See bottom of NoodleTools help page "Footnotes (Chicago)". 

Smarick's Footnote Example - This is what a Chicago/Turabian footnote looks like.  

Rules for a Bibliography - These guidelines will help you with formatting and organizing your bibliography. NoodleTools will also format your bibliography for you in proper Chicgao/Turabian style. See the NoodleTools help pages "How to export sources to Google Doc" and "How to export sources to Word Online". 

Get Help

The librarian is always happy to help you!

  In Person - during library hours, 
       7:20 a.m. - 2:45 p.m., Monday - Friday

  Or Sign Up for Library SET (before 8:30 a.m.daily; closed on Friday Club Days)

  240-566-9690 - during library hours

  By Email - Renate.Owen@fcps.org

Chicago/Turabian Resources

Chicago/Turabian LibGuide - This guide includes information about citing various kinds of sources in Chicago/Turabian style.

Turabian 9th Edition Sample Paper (Regent University)  

Turabian 9th Edition Formatting Checklist - Turabian has two styles of formatting: bibliography or reference style. This checklist is for the more common bibliography style.

Turabian Style: Quick Reference Guide for Students (Bethany Theological Seminary)