What is a database?
Databases are electronic catalogs containing published information. These documents can be from magazines, newspapers, academic journals, videos, images, ebooks, book chapters or essays. Some databases cover multiple subjects, while others are specific to a certain field.
Databases are different from Google, so knowing about various search techniques will improve the results retrieved from a database search.
LibGuides: Databases: Home. (n.d.). https://fcps.libguides.com/c.php?g=899095
Search by Subject: the most precise way to search article databases. Databases look for subjects only in the subject heading or descriptor field, where the most relevant words appear.
Search by Keyword: is how you typically search web search engines. Think of important words or phrases and type them in to get results.
LibGuides: Databases: Home. (n.d.). https://fcps.libguides.com/c.php?g=899095
An online encyclopedia that includes articles, videos, and timelines that can be leveled by reading difficulty.
Academic articles, images, topic selections, and more for middle schoolers.
.The American Revolution documents the revolution and war that created the United States of America, from the earliest protests in 1765 through the peace treaty of 1783. The collection examines the political, social, and intellectual upheaval of the age, as well as the actual war for American independence through its eight long years of conflict.
A collection of articles, pictures, documents, and information. Allows text to be "read to you."