LibGuides: Health II Resources: Fad Diets

Databases for Research

Health and Wellness in Context
An “in-context” database that covers many current day health topics. This is an excellent resource for Health I and II.
Science in Context
Gale resource that is specifically focused on topics in science. Password: knights
Gale Databases
This link will take you to a search page that searches 15 different scholarly databases all in one place. Databases include Gale High School, Opposing Viewponts, US History, World History, Science in Context, among others! Remote password is knights.
Britannica - School
An encyclopedia that includes thousands of articles, biographies, videos, images and websites.
For remote access: Username/ID: school Password: table
Britannica Imagequest
Millions of rights-cleared images to use. For home access: Username: fredco, Password: fredco

Fad Diets: Fact and Fiction
Excellent resource on a number of the fad diets listed in the assignment - Click the "go to" hyperlink along the right hand side of the article to navigate the extensive article.
Fad Diet Examples and Efficacy
An article published by a medical professional on fad diets and their impact and effects on the human body.
Forbes Article - The Truth About Fad Diets
This article outlines some of the more popular fad diets but also addresses the concept of fad dieting and its effects. This site has a lot of ads.
Fad Diets: The Pros and Cons (Med. Univ. of SC)
Outlines pros and cons of some of the more popular, sustaining fad diets.
Nat'l Library of Medicine (NIH): Junk Food's Impact on Human Body
Article not specifically about junk food diet but outlines what its impact is on the body and brain.
FAQs on Taenisis (tapeworm infection)
This link is not about the diet, but is a trustworthy (CDC) source on what the parastic infection looks like.

SIFT is a helpful acronym for initially evaluating source credibility. SIFT stands for:

STOP. Pause and ask yourself if you recognize the information source and if you know anything about the website or the claim's reputation.
If not, use the four moves (below) to learn more. If you start getting too overwhelmed during the other moves, pause and remember your original purpose.
INVESTIGATE the source.
Take a minute to identify where this information comes from and to consider the creator's expertise and agenda. Is this source worth your time? Look at what others have said about the source to help with you these questions.
(For example, a company that sells health food products is not the best source for information about health benefits/risks of consuming coconut oil. A research study funded by a pharmaceutical company is also suspect.)
FIND trusted coverage.
Sometimes it's less important to know about the source and more important to assess their claim. Look for credible sources; compare information across sources and determine whether there appears to be a consensus.
TRACE claims, quotes, and media back to the original context.
Sometimes online information has been removed from its original context (for example, a news story is reported on in another online publication or an image is shared on Twitter). If needed trace the information back to the original source in order to recontextualize it.

Later, when you determine that the site is worth your time, you can analyze the source's content more carefully.