Skip to Main Content

Health II Resources

Research Databases and Recommended Websites

DATABASES

Health and Wellness in Context
An “in-context” database that covers many current day health topics. This is an excellent resource for Health I and II.
Gale Reference eBooks
Search your drug; a number of reference books about drugs are available.
Gale Science-in-Context
A database covering a variety of science topics, including current issues with addictive drugs.
Gale Opposing Viewpoints-in-Context
A database that examines current hot topics - including substance abuse.
Britannica Encyclopedia
A general encyclopedia - an excellent place to begin research on many topics, including drugs.
SIRs Discoverer
A database of a multitude of topics - many search results from newspapers and magazines.

WEBSITES

National Institute on Drug Abuse (NIH)
National Institute of Health's drug pages.
Drug Enforcement Agency
The government website on the regulation of drugs in the US.
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
The CDC's list of pages on various drugs and their effects.
Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration
Government-sponsored website on public health as it pertains to mental health and preventing substance abuse.

Public Service Announcement Tools

Canva
Sign-in with Google; thousands of template - look at flyer or infographic
Adobe Express
Sign in with Google; many options including inforgraphic

Google Sites
Linked to your Google account. *must publish in order to preview*

WeVideo
FCPS students have access to the premium account of WeVideo. Consider using the stock images and videos and music within the platform.
Adobe Express
Log in with Google. Then, you'll the find the audio to create a video under "Create."

WeVideo
Sign-in with Google. To make only an mp3 file - only edit the audio and voiceover tracks ("narrate") and export as an mp3 (sound only).