LibGuides: From Beowulf to Today: Compare and Contrast Resource Guide: Databases for Research

What is a database? Why should I use one?

What is a database?

A library database is an online searchable collection of information. Libraries buy subscriptions to databases so you can find research and information on a variety of topics.

Library databases contain tons of information:

scholarly peer-reviewed articles
newspaper articles
trade publications
book reviews
magazine articles

Why should I use them?

Because librarians select databases so you can find reliable, trustworthy scholarly sources.

Databases for Research

Gale Databases
This link will take you to a search page that searches 15 different scholarly databases all in one place. Databases include Gale High School, Opposing Viewponts, US History, World History, Science in Context, among others! Remote password is knights.
Britannica - School
An encyclopedia that includes thousands of articles, biographies, videos, images and websites.
For remote access: Username/ID: school Password: table
Salem's Press
This database includes ebooks related to literature among other things. Click "remote password" and insert mhsknights.
SIRs Discoverer
General database with full-text articles. For remote access, Username: fcpsmhs and Password: knights
Bloom's Literature
Bloom's Literature will have information on Beowulf and the Heroic tale in general. Username: fcpsmhs, Password: knights

Database Resources through Frederick County Public Libraries

For any resource through Frederick County Public Libraries, use this card number:

119829 + your 8 digit FCPS student ID

Gale Academic OneFile Select
This general database covers everything from art and literature to economics and the sciences. Remember to use 119829 + 8-digit student id.
Gale Virtual Reference Library (Gale eBooks)
This is a different collection of research eBooks than Middletown's, so it's worth checking out. Remember - 119829 + your 8 digit student ID to log in.

Washington Post
General newspaper with a seven day trial - FCPL users can renew every seven days using this link. Sign in with Google when prompted.