How to import a book citation from Worldcat - If you are citing a book or other non-periodical source (e.g., magazine, newspaper, journal, etc.), use WorldCat (a global catalog of library collections) to import the source information directly into your NoodleTools form. NOTE: this may not work for all books and be sure you have the title with the proper copyright dates, as books get re-published over the years and come in a variety of formats.
How to cite a book from scratch (if you are unable to do it in Worldcat) - screencast by OHS Library Media Specialist, Mrs. Owen (3:48)
The OHS library catalog is the place to start to identify print or digital books held in the Library's collections. Be sure to use the search filters in the left-hand sidebar; this will allow you to limit your search by format, collection, and subject. The collection of titles, below, is not an exhaustive list. To find more books, search the library catalog.
Hint: If you find a book that matches your research interest, be sure to look at the subject headings. These subject headings may lead you to other useful materials. For example:
40 Chances by
With a foreword by Warren Buffett, 40 Chances is an "inspiring manifesto...both an informative guidebook and a catalyst for igniting real changes" (Booklist) in the struggle against world hunger. If someone granted you $3 billion to accomplish something great in the world, what would you do? In 2006, legendary investor Warren Buffett posed this challenge to his son Howard G. Buffett. Howard set out to help the most vulnerable people on earth-nearly a billion individuals who lack basic food security. And Howard gave himself a deadline: forty years to put the resources to work on this challenge. 40 Chances: Finding Hope in a Hungry World captures Howard's journey. Beginning with his love for farming, we join him around the world as he seeks out new approaches to ease the suffering of so many. Each of the forty stories here provides a compelling look at the lessons Howard learned, ranging from his own backyard to some of the most difficult and dangerous places on Earth. But this message goes beyond the pages of this book, it's also a mindset: a way of thinking that speaks to every person wanting to make a difference. It's about reasons to hope and actions we can take. 40 Chances "recounts Howard's personal and professional experiences in surprisingly candid and colorful fashion...successfully blending personal stories with a tough look at the struggle to fight domestic food scarcity and world hunger...A satisfying read" (Publishers Weekly) that provides inspiration to transform each of our limited chances into opportunities to change the world.
Coping with Racial Inequality by
"One of the most pressing issues of the last few years has been the rise of activism and other efforts that aim to combat discrimination and racial inequality. This book provides an overview of the problem as well as a starting point for young readers mitigating the effects of racial intolerance on their own lives and will enable them to deal with the often overwhelming stress of being an ethnic minority, whatever their background. With an approach both sensitive and assertive, it aims to assist youth in navigating interpersonal slights and abuse, as well as systemic racism."
Our House Is on Fire by
"A must-read ecological message of hope . . . Everyone with an interest in the future of this planet should read this book." --David Mitchell, The Guardian When climate activist Greta Thunberg was eleven, her parents Malena and Svante, and her little sister Beata, were facing a crisis in their own home. Greta had stopped eating and speaking, and her mother and father had reconfigured their lives to care for her. Desperate and searching for answers, her parents discovered what was at the heart of Greta's distress: her imperiled future on a rapidly heating planet. Steered by Greta's determination to understand the truth and generate change, they began to see the deep connections between their own suffering and the planet's. Written by a remarkable family and told through the voice of an iconoclastic mother, Our House Is on Fire is the story of how they fought their problems at home by taking global action. And it is the story of how Greta decided to go on strike from school, igniting a worldwide rebellion.
Teenagers and Community Service by
Community service is increasingly recognized as an important vehicle for promoting positive development among adolescents. This book provides teenagers, parents, teachers, professionals, and concerned adults with current and useful information. Included are resources for middle school, high school, and college students. Those organizing and running programs will find a wealth of material for development and improvement, including: _ An examination of the characteristics of effective programs, the young people who engage in service, and those who benefit _ Practical strategies for those looking to start programs _ A look at current controversies, such as mandatory service A chronology provides the historical context for understanding the current status of community service, completing this practical and accessible guide to understanding and implementing good community service programs.
The Teen Guide to Global Action by
Here's a book for every teen who wants to get involved in service and social change. Featuring profiles of real "Difference Makers" and practical tools readers can use to support causes they are passionate about,The Teen Guide to Global Action provides everything youth need to make a difference at the local, national, or global level. From suggestions for reducing hunger and poverty and protecting human rights to environmental projects and efforts to promote peace, this book provides know-how teens can use to make the world a better place. There's also a healthy dose of inspiration. Whether it's reading about Zach Hunter, who started an organization devoted to ending modern-day slavery, or Janine Licare, who is helping protect Costa Rican rain forests, teens reading these and dozens of other stories will realize they don't have to wait to become an adult to change the world. Upbeat, practical, and highly motivating,The Teen Guide to Global Action is a go-to source teens can use to put their volunteer spirit into practice and make an impact in their world.
Teen Innovators by
Teen Innovators tells the stories of discovery and the inventions of nine young students. For example, twelve-year-old Gitanjali Rao, appalled by the tragedy in Flint, Michigan, found a cheaper, more effective way to test for lead in drinking water. Four undocumented teenagers from an underfunded high school in Phoenix built an underwater robot from spare and found parts. Substituting hard work and creative thinking for money and expensive equipment, they won a national robotics competition, beating a well-funded team from MIT. At fifteen, William Kamkwamba used materials from junkyards near his home in Malawai to build a windmill to generate electricity and pump water for his village. While each profile tells a different story, the reader soon sees the common threads of determination and ingenuity. Stories include: Jack Andraka: improved pancreatic cancer test Gitanjali Rao: device to detect lead in drinking water William Kamkwamba: improvised electrical generator using windmill in Malawi Austen Veseliza: digital display glove to aid people with speech impairment Deepika Kurup: easier, cheaper method to remove toxins from drinking water Cristian Arcega, Lorenzo Santillan, Oscar Vasquez, Luis Aranda: underwater robot Science educator and professor Fred Estes explores the motivation, challenges, and lives of these teen scientists and explains the science behind each invention simply and clearly. Readers will see how the science they study today in school relates to these important discoveries.
Teens and Volunteerism by
Most young people in the United States are willing to give something back to their communities. This book examines the opportunities young people have for volunteering, and explores the controversial issue of school-mandated community service programs that are required for graduation.
Teens with the Courage to Give by
Lately, troubled teens have been dominating the headlines. But there are other stories that deserve the spotlightstories about the many teenagers who have dedicated themselves to important, socially useful volunteer work and who will lead their generation toward a more hopeful tomorrow. The fourth in Conari Press' "Call to Action" series, Teens with the Courage to Give profiles thirty amazing young people throughout the United States and Canada who overcame great personal odds to reach out and help others while healing themselves in the process. Each has founded or is linked to a nonprofit organization that is also profiled in the book, to encourage other teens to embrace volunteerism. In these inspiring pages, to name just a few of these heroic teenagers, you'll meet an amputee who runs in the Paralympics and spurs others on with his inner resolve; the son of a cancer patient who created support groups around the country for kids with sick parents; a girl who helped her mother and younger sister as they died of aids and who is now an aids awareness and prevention volunteer; and one of the students from the Littleton, Colorado, shooting who has gone on to create a teen dropin center. Through their courageous firstperson stories, these teens show that they are part of the solution to what ails today's society. Includes an extensive resource guide of volunteer opportunities and a classroom/group discussion guide.
Volunteering by
More than 70 percent of America's 60 million young people believe they can make a difference in their communities, and the numbers support their assertions. Teenagers spend 2.4 billion hours annually in volunteer service, and their labor is worth $34.3 billion to the U.S. economy. Volunteering brings emotional satisfaction, provides opportunities for learning skills that can be used in the job market, and helps teens to make career choices. But the major reasons that teens cite for performing volunteer service is the compassion they feel for people in need and the belief that they improve the quality of life for others. Volunteering: The Ultimate Teen Guide is a complete guide for teens who want to volunteer. Young people get a complete picture of what volunteering involves, including the personal commitment and the physical and emotional stamina, as well as the positive--and sometimes negative--consequences. This book is filled with inspiring and rewarding stories from teen volunteers who testify to the benefits and the immense personal satisfaction as a result of their volunteer efforts. Volunteering is a wonderful resource for both teens as well as those who work with teens on how to use one's time and energy to positively impact society and to gain personal satisfaction from helping others.
All Gale eBooks are multi-user access books, meaning many students can look at the book simultaneously without checking it out from the library.
The list, below, is not an exhaustive list of possible topics to explore for your leadership project. To find other titles use the search box below. For remote access, use the Password: bears (you must be logged in to your FCPS account to access). Here's how to export Gale eBook citations to your NoodleTools project.
Endangered Species: a Reference Handbook by
A detailed exploration of the variety of threats that endangered species are facing around the world, whether they are due to human impact or so-called natural causes. * Includes a Perspectives chapter that allows for voices to be heard from many individuals who are concerned with endangered species * Serves general readers who wants to learn more about the history and current events concerning endangered species in an easy-to-understand fashion as well as high school and undergrad students conducting research for reports or projects * Presents facts that enables readers reach their own conclusions regarding the controversies regarding endangered species
LGBT Discrimination by
Lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender people are frequently denied equal rights in America. LGBT people face discrimination as employees, students, adoptive parents, spouses, and consumers, and they have been targeted in violent hate crimes. LGBT Discrimination examines what this discrimination entails, how it is manifested, how widespread it is, how it affects real people, and efforts to address it.
Looking at Privilege and Power by
Check your privilege is a much-used phrase that's often met with defensiveness and even denial. Admitting to benefitting from the oppression of others is a painful truth. In this book, readers uncover truths about privilege and power that can help lead the productive conversations that are necessary to social justice education and beginning the work of accepting responsibility.
Questioning Cultural Appropriation by
We live in a country where you can have Thai take-out ordered in while you lay warm under your Navajo-style blanket watching Bollywood musicals on Netflix. We are surrounded by other cultures that we also have a duty to protect. This volume is all about defining that responsibility and giving readers the tools to fulfill it. We must all learn to questions this cultural crime before it wipes out and whitewashes all of our differences away.
A State-By-State History of Race and Racism in the United States [2 Volumes] by
Providing chronologies of important events, historical narratives from the first settlement to the present, and biographies of major figures, this work offers readers an unseen look at the history of racism from the perspective of individual states. * Comprises detailed narratives encompassing the first European contact to the present day of the unique racial history of all 50 states and the District of Columbia * Provides a chronology of important racial events, achievements, and milestones for the states, plus the District of Columbia * Offers biographies of individuals who successfully confronted racism in America and removed obstacles to social achievement * Includes sidebars highlighting interesting events, individuals, and accomplishments relevant to the racial history of particular states
Teens Talk about Leadership and Activism by
In this compilation of real stories, teens will read first-person accounts of young adults finding their way as leaders and activists. The volume offers narratives that deal with topics including the profound influence a teacher has on a student, the importance of teamwork while participating in an artistic performance, and the impact that attending a rally against genocide has on a young adult. Each story is written with an earnestness that is sure to move readers as it reveals the passion of these teens learning more about the world and themselves.
Find more books at the Frederick County Public Libraries (FCPL). To check out books from any Frederick County Public Library (FCPL) branch, please use your FCPL Student Success Card number (every FCPS student has one!). Please ask your Library Media Specialist if you need assistance with using this "card".
The librarian is always happy to help you!
Visit the Library Website
Open M-F, 7:15 am - 2:15 pm
240-566-9690
Contact me by Schoology message or email Renate.Owen@fcps.org
To access Sora: use FCPS Login | Read this Sora Quick Start Guide to get started.
Sora is the platform that FCPS uses to store our ebooks and audiobooks. All Sora eBooks are single user books, meaning only one student at a time can look at the book after it's checked out from Sora. Students can access these digital copies by downloading the Sora app or clicking on the Sora icon, at top.
The list, below, is not an exhaustive list of leadership topic eBooks. To find other titles click on the Sora icon and search for your topic.
(Don't) Call Me Crazy by
A Washington Post Best Children's Book of 2018 Who's Crazy? What does it mean to be crazy? Is using the word crazy offensive? What happens when a label like that gets attached to your everyday experiences? To understand mental health, we need to talk openly about it. Because there's no single definition of crazy, there's no single experience that embodies it, and the word itself means different things--wild? extreme? disturbed? passionate?--to different people. In (Don't) Call Me Crazy, thirty-three actors, athletes, writers, and artists offer essays, lists, comics, and illustrations that explore a wide range of topics: their personal experiences with mental illness, how we do and don't talk about mental health, help for better understanding how every person's brain is wired differently, and what, exactly, might make someone crazy. If you've ever struggled with your mental health, or know someone who has, come on in, turn the pages . . . and let's get talking. This award-winning anthology is from the highly-praised editor of Here We Are: Feminism for the Real World and Body Talk: 37 Voices Explore Our Radical Anatomy. .
Economic Inequality by
Millions of Americans don't earn enough money to pay for decent housing, food, health care, and education. Increasingly, families and young people aren't doing better than their parents and grandparents before them. In fact, they're doing worse. And women and minorities earn less than white men. The American Dream is harder to achieve than ever before. Meanwhile, the rich keep getting richer. Many Americans are angry about economic inequality, and many are working on solutions. Readers will learn how state and local governments, businesses, and ordinary citizens--including young people--are fighting to close the gap between rich and poor, to preserve the promises of American democracy, and to give everyone a fair shot at the American Dream.
Homelessness and Street Crime by
Hundreds of thousands of Americans are without a home, sleeping on streets or in temporary shelters. Nearly one-fifth of homeless Americans suffer from an untreated mental illness. Due in part to reductions in state and city budgets, many who need assistance are left to live on the street. One natural byproduct of a life on the street is criminal behavior, as adaptation to illegal acts becomes a matter of survival. Could ending homelessness reduce crime? What are ways in which that could be achieved, and whose responsibility is it? Are the homeless being unfairly blamed for street crime? This volume offers a close examination of the issue from a variety of viewpoints.
Learned Helplessness, Welfare, and the Poverty Cycle by
Between 1996 and 2017, the number of families on welfare declined to less than a quarter of its former rate of coverage, yet nearly twice as many households live in extreme poverty and nearly 25 percent of American children live in poverty. What can be done to help these children and families escape poverty? Are government programs like welfare the best solution, or are there other ways to pull families out of poverty? This volume looks at the issue of poverty, the various theories about why it proliferates, and a number of proposed strategies to fight it.
No More Excuses by
Soon after the sexual misconduct allegations against film producer Harvey Weinstein became public in late 2017, the #MeToo movement went viral, opening up an explosive conversation about rape culture around the globe. In the US, someone is sexually assaulted every 98 seconds. More than 320,000 Americans over the age of twelve are sexually assaulted each year. Men are victims too. One in thirty-three American men will be sexually assaulted or raped in his lifetime. Yet only 3 percent of rapists ever serve time in jail. Learn about the patriarchal constructs that support rape culture and how to dismantle them: redefining healthy manhood and sexuality, believing victims, improving social and legal systems and workplace environments, evaluating media with a critical eye, and standing up to speak out. Case studies provide a well-rounded view of real people on all sides of the issues.
No one is too small to make a difference by
The groundbreaking speeches of Greta Thunberg, the young climate activist who has become the voice of a generation, including her historic address to the United Nations In August 2018 a fifteen-year-old Swedish girl, Greta Thunberg, decided not to go to school one day in order to protest the climate crisis. Her actions sparked a global movement, inspiring millions of students to go on strike for our planet, forcing governments to listen, and earning her a Nobel Peace Prize nomination. No One Is Too Small to Make A Difference brings you Greta in her own words, for the first time. Collecting her speeches that have made history across the globe, from the United Nations to Capitol Hill and mass street protests, her book is a rallying cry for why we must all wake up and fight to protect the living planet, no matter how powerless we feel. Our future depends upon it.