Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Step 3: Choose a Topic
Select a topic (global challenge) to focus your research on. It is important to select a topic that is relevant to your country.
Britannica High School Edition
Britannica High School Edition explores the updated encyclopedia including thousands of articles, biographies, videos, images and websites.
Explora is a collection of academic articles for research and instruction. Useful search terms include "Afghanistan" and "Afghanistan history"
SIRS Issue Researcher
A general database of selected full-text articles on social, scientific, health, historic, economic, business, political, and global issues.
Student Resources in Context
Student Resources In Context provides contextual information on a broad range of topics, people, places, and events, including access to full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites.
Search Terms & Additional Sources
Global Challenge Keywords & Resources
This Google Doc provides keywords and additional resources to use during research.
BioOne Complete is a database of more than 200 subscribed and open-access titles in the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences.
Directory of Open Access Journals
The Directory of Open Access Journals is a website that hosts a community-curated list of open access journals, maintained by Infrastructure Services for Open Access.
Google Scholar is a freely accessible web search engine that indexes the full text or metadata of scholarly literature across an array of publishing formats and disciplines
UN Sustainable Development Goals
The 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development, adopted by all United Nations Member States in 2015, provides a shared blueprint for peace and prosperity for people and the planet, now and into the future. At its heart are the 17 Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs), which are an urgent call for action by all countries - developed and developing - in a global partnership. They recognize that ending poverty and other deprivations must go hand-in-hand with strategies that improve health and education, reduce inequality, and spur economic growth – all while tackling climate change and working to preserve our oceans and forests.