The Library has various materials in regards to English Language Learners (ELL) including SIOP materials (Sheltered Instruction Observation Protocol) that are available for checkout.
Special Salient 5 bibliographies have been created to help find resources available at the Professional Library with links to additional Professional Learning resources.
Both elementary instrumental and choral music is housed in the Lincoln Elementary School. Instrumental music is searchable in the online catalog (band and orchestra) . Requests for instrumental music can be made online through the library catalog [Orchestral and band music titles].
Parent Preview Material
Especially in the areas of the Health/PE curriculum, materials are available for parent preview. See Material Reservations on the Health/PE site. Materials Available include:
Equipment
Equipment maintained by Curriculum & Professional Development for presentations (i.e. easels, data projector) can be reserved through the PLIMC. The Professional Library also has GPSs and student response system clickers that are available for checkout. In addition the Fatal Vision Goggles and Xbox used for Health/PE are also housed at the library along with the Personal Safety Unit kits (PK-3) (See parent preview). Although Adapted PE equipment is kept at Rock Creek it is searched in the PLIMC catalog to allow for district-wide requests. [PDF of Adapted PE Equipment by Subject Terms].
The Library's collection is searchable on its online catalog. There are two catalogs to chose from LS2 Pac and Classic Pac. LS2 Pac uses a "Google" like relevancy search. It displays a book river of customized subjects and includes the ability for users (who are logged on) to create lists, save searches and write reviews of materials.
For instructions on accessing your individual online account to request an item contact your media specialist or the PLIMC (240) 236-8825. In general the Library ID is either the FCPS student or employee ID, and the PIN is the last four digits of that same number. Employees with three digit IDs need to a add a leading 0 (zero) to make the PIN four digits. For example if your employee ID is 123 your Library ID will be 123 and your PIN will be 0123. Other examples: ID: 30999 / PIN: 0999.
The YouSeeMore portal page provides users with access to a district-wide catalog, online catalogs for each school (including CTC and the Professional Library), student databases, web resources, a media center directory and other media center resources. This one-stop center is accessible from home and ties together resources that are available to all of FCPS staff and students.
