| Media Type | Amount Allowed Under Fair Use |
|---|---|
| Motion Media (movies, film clips, TV shows) | Up to 10% of the total or three minutes (whichever is less) |
| Text Materials | Up to 10% of the total OR 1,000 words (whichever is less) |
| Music, Music Lyrics, and Videos | Up to 10% of the work BUT NO MORE than 30 seconds of the music or lyrics for an individual musical work |
| Illustrations or Photographs |
No more than five images from one artist or photographer No more than 10% or 15 images from one collection (whichever is less) |
| Numerical Data Sets | Up to 10% or 2,500 fields or cells from a copyrighted database or data field (whichever is less) |
Royalty Free Media |
Description: the free media listed below may be used as long as you give sufficient attribution or credit to the composer or creator when you share their work. |
Creative Commons |
Creative Commons provides free, easy-to-use copyright licenses to make a simple and standardized way to give the public permission to share and use your creative work. |
Flickr Creative Commons |
A GIANT collection of free images to use, submitted by people all around the world. |
Internet Archive – Movie Archive |
Hundreds of thousands of public domain video clips, films, community submitted clips, and older historical newsreels. |
Librivox |
Public domain audiobooks read by volunteers. |
National Park Service Multimedia |
Not everything linked here is Public Domain but most of it is. Usage rights is clearly marked though. Contains multimedia from a number of different U.S. National Parks and Monuments. |
New York Times Public Domain Images |
Images from the New York Times that are in the Public Domain. |
Prelinger Archives |
Thousands of short films in the domains of education, advertising, and industry. |
Project Gutenberg |
Books in the Public Domain from Project Gutenberg. |
Smithsonian Institution Public Domain Images |
Images from the collection of the Smithsonian Institution that are in the Public Domain. |
Creative Commons is a way to protect your work, but still allow others to use your work in an ethical way. Creative Commons allows creators to mark their work with a license that specifies how the user may use the work without having to contact the creator.
Create a Creative Commons License for your work
