LibGuides: Famous Photographer Research: Photographer Websites & Databases

OHS Databases with Photographer Information (find articles with citations)

Tips for Database Searching (College of the Siskiyous) - Searching for articles in a library database is different than searching with Google. Here are some tips to get you started.

The Web vs. Library Databases (Arizona State University) - Explains how the two resources are different and why you should use databases for research.

Biography is for those seeking contextual information on the world's most influential people. Provides access to authoritative reference content (including Lives & Perspectives) with periodicals and multimedia allowing users to search for people based on name, occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth/death dates and places, or gender as well as keyword and full text. Here's how to import Gale database citations to your NoodleTools project.

For remote access: Password: bears

Use this database to find articles, images, videos, and websites. PLEASE DO NOT USE THE FREE ONLINE VERSION!

This database provides citations, however, you will need to use the "Quick Cite" feature in NoodleTools to export the source to your NoodleTools project.

Use the following NoodleTools template pathway for articles: DATABASE > ORIGINAL CONTENT > "Quick Cite" at top of template and edit according to MLA guide at top.

For remote access: Access ID: school Passcode: table

This database contains approximately three million images more than 50 of the best collections in the world. All images are rights-cleared for non-commercial, educational use. PLEASE DO NOT USE THE FREE ONLINE VERSION!

This database provides citations, however, you will need to use the "Quick Cite" feature in NoodleTools to export the source to your NoodleTools project.

Use the following NoodleTools template pathway: DATABASE > PHOTO OR IMAGE (born digital--for photos created 2000 or beyond) OR DATABASE > PHOTO OR ILLUSTRATION (photos before 2000) then use "Quick Cite" at top of template and edit according to MLA guide at top.

For remote access: Access ID: school Passcode: table

Google Advanced Search for Websites & Images

Narrow down search results for complex searches by using the Advanced Search page. For example, you can find sites updated in the last 24 hours or images that are in black and white.

Do an Advanced Search

Go to the Advanced Search page.
- Advanced Search for websites - for best results, search domains .edu, .gov, and .org (one at a time)
- Advanced Search for images
In the "Find pages with" section, enter your search terms.
In the "Then narrow your results by" section, choose the filters you want to use. You can use one or more filters.
Click Advanced Search.

Tip: You can also use many of these filters in the search box with search operators.

Photographer Websites A-Z (make your own citations)

NOTE: Some of these websites may be blocked by FCPS filters; please try accessing these sites from home, as needed.

NOODLETOOLS CITING TIPS - use the following templates in Noodletools when citing these types of sources from the links below:

Photos - WEBSITE > PHOTO or ILLUSTRATION for photos created before year 2000
Photos - WEBSITE > PHOTO or IMAGE (born digital) for photos created after year 2000
Blogs - WEBSITE > BLOG
Biographical information - WEBSITE > WEBPAGE

Berenice Abbott (IPHoFM) Berenice Abbott is remembered as one of the most independent, determined and respected photographers of the twentieth century. She was born in Springfield, Ohio on July 17,1898. Abbott recounted a lonely, unhappy childhood. However, later in life, she attributed her strong characteristics of self-reliance, determination and independence to her unfortunate childhood experiences.
Berenice Abbot (MIoA) February 1940: the magazine Popular Photography asks Berenice Abbott to name her "favorite picture." Her response...
Aubrey Bodine (Mariners' Museum) The archived works of Aubrey Bodine in the Mariners' Museum and Park archives.
Aubrey Bodine (TFAOI) The Morris Museum of Art provided source material to the Traditional Arts Organization, Inc. Resource Library for the following article. The included gallery guide text was reprinted in Resource Library on April 30, 2008 with the permission of the Morris Museum of Art and the author.
Aubrey Bodine (WYPR) This segment originally aired on June 18, 2013. Photographer A. Aubrey Bodine worked for the Baltimore Sunday Sun from 1924 to 1970. During his career, he captured the way Marylanders lived and worked. A new collection of his photography depicts some of the occupations Marylanders held, some of which are long gone, such as umbrella menders and carriage makers, and others which are still around, such as tomato pickers, firemen, and sailors.
Mathew Brady (Congressional Cemetery) In the middle of July, 1863, a small group of men busily moved across the sweeping terrain of Gettysburg, Pennsylvania. One of the men gazed towards a small hill known as Little Round Top, likely battling the sweltering heat as he focused and consulted his notes. Just a few weeks before, Little Round Top was host to an unprecedented level of carnage as thousands of combatants clashed for control of the critical high ground. After he was sure this was a location of note, the man and his assistants set up the bulky camera and photographed the small hill, one of the 36 photographs they took at Gettysburg. While they were not the first group of men to photograph the legendary battlefield, their well-researched work was the first to capture key features like Little Round Top and the Wheatfield. And in many of these photographs, Mathew Brady, the leader of the expedition, captured himself looking upon the scene of battle.
Mathew Brady (National Parks Conservation Association) If you’ve ever seen a portrait of a Civil War soldier or the landscape of a battlefield just after the cannon-fire has been silenced, then you’re familiar with the work of Mathew Brady. Now meet the man behind the images.
Jim Brandenberg - Wildlife/Nature (Official website) American photographer Jim Brandenburg’s photographs have won many national and international awards – among them two awards for Magazine Photographer of the Year by the National Press Photographer’s Association (NPPA). He has worked as a photographer for National Geographic magazine for over 20 years, resulting in 19 magazine articles, several television features, and more than 19 books. Jim Brandenburg has published many bestsellers, including Chased by the Light, Brother Wolf and White Wolf.
Jim Brandenburg - Nature/Wildlife (Blog) Welcome to photographer and filmmaker Jim Brandenburg's blog. We update this site frequently with Jim's latest images, time-lapse photography, video, events, and thoughts.
Brassai - Portraiture/Fine Art (IPHF) In truth, when you saw Brassaï, with his slightly bulging eyes constantly darting here and there, always on the lookout, you’d think that he didn’t need anything else to capture the richness and diversity of the world. His friend Henry Miller called him “a living eye.” It was the insatiable curiosity of that eye, and of the brain that is the extension of the retina, that made him the most complete artist and witness of his time.
Clyde Butcher (Official) Clyde has been called the next Ansel Adams by Popular Photography magazine, awarded as a humanitarian for acting for the betterment of his community, and recognized as a conservationist for bringing issues to the forefront of public consciousness through his art. His photography transcends political boundaries, challenging us to work together to protect natural places across the globe.
Clyde Butcher (CVC) Clyde Butcher's "Florida" exhibit at the Center for Visual Communication.
Clyde Butcher (NPR) For Photographer Clyde Butcher, The Swamp Is A Beautiful Place: Greg Allen for NPR followed Butcher through the swamps, waist-high in water on the job. An intrepid documentarian, Butcher carries a large-format camera around the swamps on his back, like a time traveler hailing from the days of uncharted America.
Robert Capa - Photojournalist (ICP) Born André Friedmann in Budapest, Robert Capa left Hungary in 1930 for Berlin, enrolled in the Deutsche Hochschule für Politik as a student of journalism and political science, and served as a darkroom assistant at the Deutsche Photodienst Agency. With the rise of the Nazis in 1933, Capa left Germany for Paris, where he shared a darkroom with Henri Cartier-Bresson and Chim (David Seymour). He worked regularly as a photojournalist, and between 1936 and 1939 made several trips to Spain with his companion, Gerda Taro, to document the civil war.
Jimmy Chin (Official website) Jimmy Chin is an Asian American professional mountain athlete, National Geographic photographer, Academy Award-winning film director, and New York Times Best Selling author. In his multiple careers as an athlete, storyteller and artist, he is equally respected for his groundbreaking climbing, mountaineering and skiing achievements as he is for his photography and filmmaking. Jimmy’s exploits in the mountains have allowed him to partner with some of the greatest adventure athletes and explorers of his generation.
Jimmy Chin (Photo Society) Few photographers will attempt Pakistan’s precipitous K7 or ski from the summit of Everest just to frame a shot. So when world renowned mountaineer, Ed Viesturs, pushes for the summit of his final 8000m peak, or when alpinist Conrad Anker plans to put up a new route in the Himalayas, they call the same photographer and filmmaker: Jimmy Chin. Arguably one of the most sought after expedition photographers working today, Chin, a Minnesota native, is himself a professional climber, skier and ten year veteran of the North Face Athlete Team.
Flor Garduno (MFAH) View several photographs by this Swiss and Mexican photographer.
Walter Iooss - Sports Photography (Official website) Widely considered the world’s most influential sports photographer and dubbed as “the Rembrandt of sports photography” due to his use of light and shadow, color, and composition, Walter Iooss Jr.’s images transcend the fame of his subjects and have come to represent modern sports culture. But the secret to his success is a carefully crafted rapport with his subjects. As a result, his work has forever changed the definition of what a “good sports photograph" should be.
Walter Iooss - video collection (Vimeo) 40 results for Walter Iooss.
Andre Kertesz André Kertész was born in Budapest in 1894 and studied at the Academy of Commerce until he bought his first camera in 1912. He served in the Austro-Hungarian army during World War I, and in 1925 had one of his photographs published on the cover of Erdekes Ujsay. That same year, he moved to Paris, where he did freelance work for many European publications, including Vu, Le Matin, Frankfurter Illustrierte, Die Photographie, La Nazione Firenze, and The Times of London. He bought his first 35-millimeter camera, a Leica, in 1928, and his innovative work with it on the streets of Paris was extremely influential.
Annie Liebovitz - American Masters (PBS) Annie Leibovitz has photographed musicians, actors, and writers since the early 1970s. She has captured some of the most enduring images of our time.
Sally Mann (MoCP) Photos from the archives of the Museum of Contemporary Photography at the Collumbia College of Chicago.
Sally Mann (NPR) Photographer Sally Mann's work is rooted in Virginia's Shenandoah Valley, among the rolling hills of Rockbridge County, where she grew up. She shares her 425-acre farm with five dogs and four well-loved Arabian horses faithfully fed each morning by her husband, Larry Mann, a blacksmith and a lawyer.
Joe Rosenthal (IPHFM) Though the career of Joe Rosenthal spanned more than 50 years, he is best known for a single image: Raising the Flag on Iwo Jima. The photograph of six men on a tiny island in the Pacific was immediately a symbol of victory and heroism, and became one of the most famous, most reproduced and even most controversial photographs of all time.
John Sexton - Black & White Landscape (Official website) Information about John Sexton via podcasts, videos, and websites.
Man Ray - American Masters (PBS) Man Ray, the master of experimental and fashion photography was also a painter, filmmaker, poet, essayist, philosopher, and leader of American modernism.
Sandy Skoglund - Installation Art/Abstract (Free York) American artist and photographer Sandy Skoglund creates surrealist images by building elaborate sets or tableaux, furnishing them with carefully purchased and trained small children and other objects, a process of which takes her months to complete. Finally, she photographs the set, complete with actors. The works are characterized by an overwhelming amount of one object and either bright, contrasting colors or a monochromatic color scheme.
Sandy Skoglund - Installation Art/Abstract (Inception) Sandy Skoglund was born in Weymouth, Massachusetts in 1946. Skoglund studied studio art and art history at Smith College in Northampton, Massachusetts from 1964-68. She went on to graduate school at the University of Iowa in 1969 where she studied filmmaking, intaglio printmaking, and multimedia art, receiving her M.A. in 1971 and her M.F.A. in painting in 1972.
Jerry Ueslmann (Official website) The surreal, spiritual and thought-provoking images of Jerry Uelsmann, the master of photomontage, are anaylized and explored as we reveal the creative process and darkroom techniques of one of the world’s most acclaimed photographers.
James Van Der Zee (BlackPast.org) James VanDerZee was an African American photographer during the Harlem Renaissance who was best known for his pictures that captured the lives of African Americans in New York City, New York. He had a gift for capturing the most influential individuals and riveting artistic moments of the era. Early 20th century black activist Marcus Garvey, black entertainer/ dancer Bill “Bojangles” Robinson and renowned black poet Countee Cullen were among his more prominent subjects.
Minor White (ICoP) Minor White was born in Minneapolis, and received a B.S. degree in botany from the University of Minnesota in 1933. He moved to Portland, Oregon in 1937, where he worked as a photographer for the Works Progress Administration and taught photography until he was drafted in 1942.
Minor White (NPR) Minor White, Who Lived A Life In Photographs, Saw Images As Mirrors: Read or listen to this 5-minute podcast about the photographer.

Collective Biographies (make your own citations)