Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Wikipedia: Academic Use
Wikipedia is not a reliable source for academic writing or research. Wikipedia is increasingly used by people in the academic community, from freshman students to distinguished professorship, as an easily accessible tertiary source for information about anything and everything, and as a quick "ready reference", to get a sense of a concept or idea.
However, citation of Wikipedia in research papers may be considered unacceptable, because Wikipedia is not a reliable source.
OHS Databases with Career Information
Tips for Database Searching (College of the Siskiyous) - Searching for articles in a library database is different than searching with Google. Here are some tips to get you started.
The Web vs. Library Databases (Arizona State University) - Explains how the two resources are different and why you should use databases for research.
This database contains approximately three million images more than 50 of the best collections in the world. All images are rights-cleared for non-commercial, educational use. This database provides citations, however, you will need to use the "Quick Cite" feature in NoodleTools to export the source to your NoodleTools project.
For remote access: Access ID: school Passcode: table
Use this database portal to search across 23 Gale databases at once. You will gain access to academic journals, books, news, images, videos, and audio files. Here's how to import Gale database citations to your NoodleTools project.
For remote access: Password: bears
This database provides students with access to more than 130,000 multimedia resources. Be sure to sign in via Google (be sure you are signed in to your FCPS Google account first). You will find dozens of videos related to various careers by searching "Careers" and filtering for grades 9-12. This database will import citations to NoodleTools. Follow the directions to import Gale database citations.
A database of current events stories tailor-made for classroom use. Please sign in via Google Sign In (be sure you are in your school account first) and search for your career pathway (e.g., engineering, journalism, nurse, pilot, etc.) This database does not provide citations and you will need to use the following path for the appropriate NoodleTools template: Database > (look at by-line for source type to determine next step) Original Content OR Journal OR Magazine OR Newspaper
Websites with Career Information
Click Here for tips on how to correctly cite all websites in NoodleTools, below. Remember, this is detailed work. Follow ALL directions closely.
Occupational Outlook Handbook
The Occupational Outlook Handbook (OOH) provides information on what workers do; the work environment; education, training, and other qualifications; pay; the job outlook; information on state and area data; similar occupations; and sources of additional information, for 324 occupational profiles, covering about 4 out of 5 jobs in the economy.
iSeek Career Clusters
Use career clusters to organize your search. Career clusters help you find your way to over 500 career and 60 industry descriptions. Read more about career clusters.
The O*NET database contains hundreds of standardized and occupation-specific descriptors on almost 1,000 occupations covering the entire U.S. economy. The database, which is available to the public at no cost, is continually updated from input by a broad range of workers in each occupation.
Browse major and career profiles using broad categories, or use the tools to search by keyword or interest.
Today's Military (includes all branches)
The Today’s Military website is produced by the United States Department of Defense as a resource for young adults, parents and educators curious about military service. With cooperation from the Service branches, our goal is to paint an accurate picture of what it’s like to work, live and serve in today’s Military. Interviews with active-duty service members provide genuine insight into the challenges and rewards of service. Interactive tools allow you to explore the range of military career opportunities, estimate military pay and explore the less tangible benefits of service.
Careers in the Military (includes all branches)
Choosing GUIDED EXPLORATION, will provide students the opportunity to explore the types of military careers that match their career interest profile (RAISEC or Holland Code Test). Choosing ADVANCED SEARCH allows students to search military careers that match their aptitude strength (Math, Verbal, Science/Technology).
Career One Stop
Learn details about any occupation including what you might do on the job, how much you might earn, and how much education or training you might need.
Google Advanced Search for Websites & Images
Narrow down search results for complex searches by using the Advanced Search page. For example, you can find sites updated in the last 24 hours or images that are in black and white.
Do an Advanced Search
- Go to the Advanced Search page.
- In the "Find pages with" section, enter your search terms.
- In the "Then narrow your results by" section, choose the filters you want to use. You can use one or more filters.
- Click Advanced Search.
Tip: You can also use many of these filters in the search box with search operators