Wikipedia is not a reliable source for academic writing or research. Wikipedia is increasingly used by people in the academic community, from freshman students to distinguished professorship, as an easily accessible tertiary source for information about anything and everything, and as a quick "ready reference", to get a sense of a concept or idea.
However, citation of Wikipedia in research papers may be considered unacceptable, because Wikipedia is not a reliable source.
If you haven't settled on a career pathway just yet, consider taking one or more of these career assessment surveys to better understand which pathway fits with your personality, interests, skills, knowledge, lifestyle and educational goals.
Tips for Database Searching (College of the Siskiyous) - Searching for articles in a library database is different than searching with Google. Here are some tips to get you started.
The Web vs. Library Databases (Arizona State University) - Explains how the two resources are different and why you should use databases for research.
This database contains approximately three million images more than 50 of the best collections in the world. All images are rights-cleared for non-commercial, educational use.
This database provides citations, however, you will need to use the "Quick Cite" feature in NoodleTools to export the source to your NoodleTools project.
Use NoodleTools template: DATABASE-->PHOTO OR ILLUSTRATION (images before 2000) or PHOTO/IMAGE BORN DIGITAL (images after 2000).
For remote access: Access ID: school Passcode: table
Use this database portal to search across 23 Gale databases at once. You will gain access to academic journals, books, news, images, videos, and audio files. Here's how to import Gale database citations to your NoodleTools project.
For remote access: Password: bears
This database provides students with access to more than 130,000 multimedia resources. Be sure to sign in via Google (be sure you are signed in to your FCPS Google account first). You will find dozens of videos related to various careers by searching "Careers" and filtering for grades 9-12. This database will import citations to NoodleTools. Follow the directions to import Gale database citations.
Explore the Business Reference eBooks from Gale or Reference USA at the Frederick County Public Libraries (FCPL). To access FCPL resources, please use your FCPL Student Success Card (every FCPS student has one! Type 119829 along with the eight-digit student ID number as the username. Then use “student” as the password).
Please see OHS Library staff if you need assistance with using this "card".
Click Here for tips on how to correctly cite all websites in NoodleTools, below. Remember, this is detailed work. Follow ALL directions closely.
Click on "more" underneath each website for tips on how to cite this source in NoodleTools. Also, check sample citations for each in the document linked above.
When it comes to citing these websites in NoodleTools, use the template: Website > Webpage.
Need help? Visit the NoodleTools Help Desk page "How to create and edit a source citation."
Narrow down search results for complex searches by using the Advanced Search page. For example, you can find sites updated in the last 24 hours or images that are in black and white.
