How to import a book citation using an ISBN - If you are citing a book or other non-periodical source (e.g., magazine, newspaper, journal, etc.) in NoodleTools, use WorldCat (a global catalog of library collections) to import the source information directly into your NoodleTools form. NOTE: this may not work for all books and be sure you have the title with the proper copyright dates, as books get re-published over the years and come in a variety of formats.
How to cite a book from scratch - a (3:48) video screencast by OHS Library Media Specialist Mrs. Owen, if you are unable to cite it in NoodleTools with the aforementioned Worldcat instructions. NOTE: this video was created before the July 2021 NoodleTools updates, but the information is still relevant.
All materials are located in the OHS Library's non-fiction collection. Please ask library staff for the exact location.
The list, below, is not an exhaustive list. To find other materials at the OHS Library check the OHS library catalog.
The Pros and Cons of Nuclear Power by
Discusses the issues surrounding nuclear power, including an overview of the energy crisis, the environmental consequences, and the future of nuclear power.
Energy for the 21st Century by
As concerns over rising energy prices and potential shortages continue to grow, this comprehensive handbook provides a detailed analysis of the past, present, and future of all the principle energy sources - biomass, coal, oil, natural gas, hydro and nuclear power - as well as sustainable sources, especially fuel cell technology. Equally useful for students of energy and energy policy as well as policy makers and professionals in the field, "Energy for the 21st Century" begins with a fascinating survey of the early history and use of energy sources and the colorful expansion of Big Oil. It examines the evolving technologies for each source of energy, national and international policy issues, the effects of Middle East wars, disruptions from hurricane Katrina, and the growing energy demands of India and China. Written by an expert who is both an energy professional and a business educator, the book offers a comprehensive examination of the most current energy policies under consideration, with special attention to environmental concerns.
Power to Save the World by
In this timely book, Gwyneth Cravens takes an informed and clarifying look at the myths, the fears, and the truth about nuclear energy. With concerns about catastrophic global warming mounting, it is vital that we examine all our energy options.Power to Save the Worlddescribes the efforts of one determined woman, Gwyneth Cravens, initially a skeptic about nuclear power, as she spends nearly a decade immersing herself in the subject. She teams up with a leading expert in risk assessment and nuclear safety who is also a committed environmentalist to trace the path of uranium—the source of nuclear fuel—from start to finish. As we accompany them on visits to mines as well as to experimental reactor laboratories, fortress-like power plants, and remote waste sites normally off-limits to the public, we come to see that we already have a feasible way to address the causes of global warming on a large scale. On the nuclear tour, Cravens converses with scientists from many disciplines, public health and counterterrorism experts, engineers, and researchers who study both the harmful and benign effects of radiation; she watches remote-controlled robotic manipulators unbolt a canister of spent uranium fuel inside a “hot cell” bathed in eerie orange light; observes the dark haze from fossil-fuel combustion obscuring once-pristine New Mexico skies and the leaky, rusted pipes and sooty puddles in a coal-fired plant; glimpses rainbows made by salt dust in the deep subterranean corridors of a working nuclear waste repository. She refutes the major arguments against nuclear power one by one, making clear, for example, that a stroll through Grand Central Terminal exposes a person to more radiation than a walk of equal length through a uranium mi≠ that average background radiation around Chernobyl and in Hiroshima is lower than in Denver; that there are no “cancer clusters” near nuclear facilities; that terrorists could neither penetrate the security at an American nuclear plant nor make an atomic bomb from its fuel; that nuclear waste can be—and already is—safely stored; that wind and solar power, while important, can meet only a fraction of the demand for electricity; that a coal-fired plant releases more radiation than a nuclear plant and also emits deadly toxic waste that kills thousands of Americans a month; that in its fifty-year history American nuclear power has not caused a single death. And she demonstrates how, time and again, political fearmongering and misperceptions about risk have trumped science in the dialogue about the feasibility of nuclear energy. In the end, we see how nuclear power has been successfully and economically harnessed here and around the globe to become the single largest displacer of greenhouse gases, and how its overall risks and benefits compare with those of other energy sources. Power to Save the Worldis an eloquent, convincing argument for nuclear power as a safe energy source and an essential deterrent to global warming.
Nuclear Power Is Not the Answer by
In a world torn apart by wars over oil, many politicians look for alternative sources of energy, and their leading choice is often nuclear. Among the myths that have been spread over the years about nuclear-powered electricity is that it is safe.
Nuclear Technology by
Although advanced technologies are the cornerstone of modern life, few people understand how such technologies as robotics or nuclear science actually work. Fewer still realize how--and how dramatically--technology influences our society and culture. Nuclear Technology, the newest volume in the Sourcebooks in Modern Technology Series, is a reference guide that provides non-specialists with the most up-to-date information on seminal developments in nuclear technology, as well as covering the social, political, and technical impacts of those developments on everyday life, both now and in the future. Included are a detailed history of nuclear technology's evolution, a discussion of civilian and military applications of nuclear technology, a chronology of major developments and discoveries, profiles of prominent scientists, politicians, popularizers, and institutions, explanations of key principles, a discussion of nuclear technology's major impacts and implications, an examination of major issues surrounding nuclear technology's use, and predictions of future advances. Nuclear Technology also offers a glossary of terms, a list of key associations, a list of print and electronic information resources, over 90 illustrations, and an index.
The Pros and Cons of Coal, Gas, and Oil by
Discusses the issues surrounding fossil fuels, including an overview of the energy crisis, the environmental consequences, and the future of fossil fuels.
Coal Power of the Future by
Discusses the pros and cons of using coal power to help fight air pollution and meet our growing demand for electricity.
The Need for Oil by
Examines the importance of oil, how it is formed and obtained, the dependence of industrialized nations on oil, and why it has become a bargaining chip between Middle Eastern and Western nations.
Find more books about energy at the Frederick County Public Libraries (FCPL). To check out books from any Frederick County Public Library (FCPL) branch, please use your FCPL Student Success Card (every FCPS student has one!). Please see OHS Library staff if you need assistance with using this "card".
This database contains approximately three million images more than 50 of the best collections in the world. All images are rights-cleared for non-commercial, educational use. This database provides citations, however, you will need to use the "Quick Cite" feature in NoodleTools to export the source to your NoodleTools project.
For remote access: Access ID: school Passcode: table
Use this database to find articles, images, videos, and websites. This database provides citations, however, you will need to use the "Quick Cite" feature in NoodleTools to export the source to your NoodleTools project.
For remote access: Access ID: school Passcode: table
Use this database portal to search across 23 Gale databases at once. You will gain access to academic journals, books, news, images, videos, and audio files. Here's how to export Gale database citations to your NoodleTools project.
For remote access: Password: bears
Use this database to find newspapers, magazines, journals, images, books, websites, and other resources about your topic. This database exports citations to NoodleTools in the same way Gale databases export to NoodleTools.
For remote access: Username/ID: fcpsohs Password: bears
Energy Glossary - Browse terms related to energy.
Energy Explained - Your guide to understanding energy.
Today in Energy - Provides topical, timely, short articles with energy news and information you can understand and use. Experts explain topical data, analysis, issues, and trends to build your understanding of energy issues.
Narrow down search results for complex searches by using the Advanced Search page. For example, you can find sites updated in the last 24 hours or images that are in black and white.