LibGuides: English: To Kill a Mockingbird Research: 9: Scottsboro Case

9: Task

The Scottsboro Case: A Landmark Case and Its Impact on Capital Punishment Cases

Directions: Use this note sheet to record your research findings on the following questions:

Explain and summarize the case (who was involved, what the charges were, when it occurred, and what the final decision was)
Why was this case such a significant one in terms of its impact on capital punishment?
What were the mistakes made in this case by prosecutors, defenders, and witnesses that indicate this may have not been a fair case? How does this case illustrate how race impacted the outcomes of many court cases?

After researching and taking detailed notes independently, you and your classmates with the same topic will collaborate to create a script and video that highlights your research findings. Plan out your video script using this script organizer. Note: Only one member of your group will need to make a copy of this. They will share their copy with all group members.

FCPS/MHS Databases

Britannica ImageQuest
Britannica Image Quest contains approximately three million images from more than 50 of the best collections in the world. All images are rights-cleared for non-commercial, educational use--ideal for use in lesson plans, student projects, school websites, and beyond.
For remote access: Username/ID: fredco Password: fredco
Britannica School
Britannica High School Edition explores the updated encyclopedia including thousands of articles, biographies, videos, images and websites.
For remote access: Username/ID: fredco Password: fredco
Student Resources in Context
Student Resources In Context provides contextual information on a broad range of topics, people, places, and events, including access to full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites.
For remote access: Password: knights
US History in Context
US History in Context provides contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in US History via full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites.
For remote access: Password: knights

Websites

Citation Tools

NoodleTools
NoodleTools is an online research management platform that promotes critical thinking and authentic research. Students stay organized as they evaluate information, build accurate citations, archive source material, take notes, outline topics, and prepare to write.

To access: go to "Access via G Suite/Office 365"and type in your FCPS Google email address.

Presentation Tool

WeVideo
WeVideo is a collaborative video editing service that allows you to simply create and share great-looking videos.

To access: go to "Access via G Suite/Office 365"and type in your FCPS Google email address.
WeVideo: How-To