LibGuides: English: A Thousand Splendid Suns Research: 5: Marriage and Family

Group 5: WebQuest Task

You are a member of the Afghan Committee on Families. Your task is to understand the system of family and relationships in Afghanistan. What are the marriage expectations and trends? What are the roles and responsibilities of spouses, children, and the elderly?

Criteria: Your visual should include…

A brief summary of the system of family and relationships in Afghanistan
Two conclusions you have reached about marriage and family in Afghanistan.
Examples to support each conclusion. This support will be research information or anecdotes from news articles.
Thoughtful, proposed recommendations to strengthen the family structure and promote the well-being of marriage and family members.
Images from your research that increase the viewers’ understanding of your topic.

Note: Your fundamental task is to educate your classmates on Afghanistan’s concept of marriage and family. As you complete this task, consider the significance of these concepts and its impact on the country’s people.

FCPS/MHS Databases

Britannica ImageQuest
Britannica Image Quest contains approximately three million images from more than 50 of the best collections in the world. All images are rights-cleared for non-commercial, educational use--ideal for use in lesson plans, student projects, school websites, and beyond.
For remote access: Username/ID: fredco Password: fredco
Britannica School
Britannica High School Edition explores the updated encyclopedia including thousands of articles, biographies, videos, images and websites. Start with the search term "Afghanistan."
For remote access: Username/ID: fredco Password: fredco
Explora
Explora is a collection of academic articles for research and instruction. Useful search terms include "Afghanistan" and "Afghanistan history"
For remote access: Username: fredco Password: fredco
SIRS Knowledge Source
SIRS Knowledge Source is a collection of 6 databases for students in grade 6-12 including full-text articles, graphics, photographs, government documents, primary sources, ebooks, and previewed websites.
For remote access: Username/ID: fcpsmhs Password: knights
Student Resources in Context
Student Resources In Context provides contextual information on a broad range of topics, people, places, and events, including access to full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites.
For remote access: Password: knights
World History in Context
World History in Context provides contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in World History via full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites.
For remote access: Password: knights

Websites

Citation Tools

NoodleTools
NoodleTools is an online research management platform that promotes critical thinking and authentic research. Students stay organized as they evaluate information, build accurate citations, archive source material, take notes, outline topics, and prepare to write.

To access: go to "Access via G Suite/Office 365"and type in your FCPS Google email address.

Presentation Tools

Google Slides